Review: Midnights by Rainbow Rowell (My True Love Gave to Me)

When I bought My True Love Gave to Me (edited by Stephanie Perkins and including short stories by wonderful authors like Rainbow Rowell, Holly Black, and Stephanie herself), I knew I wanted to read one of the twelve stories each day until Christmas. You know, have my own “twelve days of Christmas.” 🙂 Then I thought you guys might enjoy mini reviews of each of the stories, instead of one review of the whole book, which might exclude some of the stories. At least, I hope you’ll enjoy that. Because that’s what I’m going to do. That’s what I’m doing. Yeah… I hope you’ll stick around and read all twelve – one a day until Christmas.

My True Love Gave to Me     IMG_20141214_163141

The first story in My True Love Gave to Me is by Rainbow Rowell. It’s called “Midnights” and it documents several New Year’s Eves at “almost midnight” between Mags and Noel – from the beginning in 2014 when Mags is apparently hiding from Noel, back to when the met in 2011, and then through the New Year’s Eve parties for the next two years until we find ourselves back in 2014.

This story is very evidently by Rainbow Rowell. Okay, I’ve only read one book by her (Attachments, which I loved), but the writing was Rowell – hope that makes sense. She’s got wonderful descriptions that I just love, like this one:

He looked like his teeth were too wide for his mouth, and his mouth was too wide for his face. – page 4

Maybe it isn’t super beautiful or anything, but I can just picture Noel perfectly. In my opinion, that’s the mark of a great writer. The story is also funny in Rowell’s somewhat dry and not overly obvious way. An example:

Mags felt it when Noel walked in. (He came in through the back door, and a bunch of cold air came in with him.) – page 13

My only complaint with this story is that it was too short. Because of that, it felt rushed in parts and it was harder to see the growth that occurred in the characters. Mostly, I just really wanted this to be a much longer story – you know, a book. I could’ve read a lot more about these characters.

Check back tomorrow when I’ll be reviewing the second story in the book, Kelly Link’s “The Lady and the Fox.”

14 thoughts on “Review: Midnights by Rainbow Rowell (My True Love Gave to Me)

  1. Pingback: My True Love Gave to Me – GIVEAWAY | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Review: Ally Carter’s and Laini Taylor’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Review: Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  4. Pingback: Review: Gayle Forman’s and Myra McEntire’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  5. Pingback: Review: Krampuslauf by Holly Black (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  6. Pingback: Review: Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  7. Pingback: Review: It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  8. Pingback: Review: Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  9. Pingback: WWW Wednesday [10] – My true love gave to me embarrassing true stories | Caught Read Handed

  10. I’m reading this book as well ( although I’m not patient enough to read only one story per day. I’ve read 6 of them since I started Friday night 😛 ). Loved midnights! Now I need to read more Rowell! I’m looking forward to your other reviews, because I’m curious where we’ll agree and where we’ll differ.

  11. Ooh, love this idea! What a great way to review a collection without leaving anything out. Might have to steal it the next time I read some short stories. 🙂

    Hope the rest of them are just as good!

Leave a comment