Road Trip Essentials (RelayRides)

As you may or may not know, I am a big fan of traveling. I have been to about ¾ of the States and five countries (including living in Scotland for a year). I am obsessed with traveling and seeing new places and meeting new people. So when I was contacted by Emma from RelayRides (a super cool – and cheap! – peer-to-peer car rental service) to create a post with some of my travel essentials, I thought it’d be fun and figured some of my fellow travel-lovers might appreciate it! First, let me tell you how cool RelayRides is. Not only can you pick the car that fits your price range and taste (which the owner will bring to you at the airport to look over and get the keys), but you can also rent out your car to travelers so you can make a little money as well. Sounds like a pretty great idea. Unfortunately, they don’t do these airport rentals in Mississippi, but maybe they’ll have rentals at your airport!

Road Trip[Source]

I take a lot of road trips and I’ve been on a lot of flights (over 25!), so it was kind of hard to decide if I should do a road trip essentials post or a carry on essentials post. As I’ve most recently been on a road trip (and I know a lot of you drive to see family during the holidays), I figured I’d better go with a road trip post.

Here are some of my absolutely-gotta-have on a road trip essentials:

Audiobook logo

Several audiobooks or lots of CDs to choose from – I despise the radio. My car only has a CD player (no aux port. Sad day) so I have to lots of CDs and several audiobooks to choose from. I’m apparently very finicky and indecisive when it comes to what to listen to in the car. Audiobooks really help to pass the time and make the drive feel less short and less boring. And I’m sure you were all surprised that BOOKS were the first thing on my list. They are always the first thing I pack. 🙂

Hand sanitizer – Gas stations are nasty, you guys.

Starbucks DoubleshotComfy pants – I cannot drive longer than 2 hours in jeans without being uncomfortable. I mean, I have done it, but I’d rather not. I wear pajamas or stretchy pants or shorts or something (anything) other than jeans. Please.

Starbucks Doubleshot(s) – I am not a fan of normal energy drinks, like Redbull or Monster, but I love coffee. I usually buy at least two Doublshots (Vanilla, Mocha, or White Chocolate) before I head out, which increases as I go.

Water – I’ve also got to have a couple of bottles of water. Make sure you stay hydrated. No, you aren’t doing anything super physical, but anyone who’s gone on a long road trip will know just how exhausting it can be.

Cash – I have stopped at a gas station in the middle of nowhere to buy some gas or snacks and been told there was no card machine. That sucks, you guys.

Snacks – Road trips will make you hungry. Some of my favorite snacks for the road: pretzels, peanut m&ms, string cheese (best to eat these early in the trip), ranch Corn Nuts (whatever, they’re delicious), Kashi Crunchy Granola and Seed bars. I also usually pack a sandwich – cheaper than getting fast food.

Burt's BeesBurt’s Bees – The definition of essential.Meds – If you take any daily meds, make sure you pack it, plus a few extras just in case.

PRINTED directions – You never know when you’re phone will die, you won’t have service, or any other number of problems with technology. Having printed directions or an actual map is definitely essential.

Tissues/napkins – Spills SUCK when you’re driving.

Phone chargers (wall AND car) – Again, technology problems. If you’re like me, you use your phone to take a billion pictures and that drains the battery. You can plug your phone up at Dunkin Donuts while you get some coffee and be good to go.

Okay, so I could probably list at least ten more things I like to have in my car on a road trip, but I’ll stop there. What do you guys HAVE to have with you on a road trip?

Also, make sure you go check out RelayRides! They have an amazing service with some really great prices – I saw some cars on there for like $25. Dang.

6 thoughts on “Road Trip Essentials (RelayRides)

  1. I was just gonna stop by to share the love for Burt’s Bees (Pomegranate is my jam), but I’ve already been beaten to the punch. You’re in good company here!

    Also, ugh. Car spills. I was on an hour-long road trip for work earlier this week and managed to dump coffee all over myself and the Zipcar I was driving. On the highway. Super awesome.

    • I like plain, regular Burt’s Bees the best. I tried the new mango one and hated it. But maybe I’ll try the Pomegranate one – sounds yummy.
      That is the worst. I hate spilling coffee on myself. Especially if it’s hot.

Leave a Reply

