Review: Krampuslauf by Holly Black (My True Love Gave to Me)

It’s day seven of my “Twelve Days of Christmas” – reviewing one story per day from My True Love Gave to Me. So far, I’ve reviewed Rainbow Rowell’s “Midnights”“The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link, and Matt de la Peña’s “Angels in the Snow”Jenny Han’s “Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me”, Stephanie Perkins’ “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown”, and David Levithan’s “Your Temporary Santa”.

Today’s story is Holly Black’s “Krampuslauf”.

My True Love Gave to MeIMG_20141220_193704

I liked this one. Quite a bit. It was weird and different and dream-like. I’ve never heard of Krampus, but apparently he basically looks like a satyr – goat legs, horns, human torso – and he punishes the children who are bad versus rewarding the children who are good. Hanna and her friends decide to go to a Krampus celebration (well, really, it’s just a hipster-ization of Krampus including hot chocolate and a charity run) to spy on the guy who screwed over Penny, one of the friends. They end up inviting the guy and his real girlfriend and their friends – as well as a cute boy who has a seriously realistic Krampus costume – to a New Year’s Eve party. Fighting, drinking, kissing, and laughing ensue.

I really, really like this one. I’ve only ever read/listened to Holly Black’s Doll Bones, but this story confirmed I seriously like Black’s clever and smart writing style. This story is really different from what you’d probably expect from a holiday story. There’s magic and mythical creatures. It doesn’t center on Christmas and it’s got Krampus – who’s kind of a more interesting version of Satan. I mean, what? I felt a little like I was dreaming while reading this and that’s actually a cool feeling to have while reading. I liked the characters, the story, the magic, the uniqueness, the writing style, everything. One of my favorites so far. Looking forward to reading more Holly Black and researching Krampus some more.

9 thoughts on “Review: Krampuslauf by Holly Black (My True Love Gave to Me)

  1. Pingback: My True Love Gave to Me – GIVEAWAY | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Review: Ally Carter’s and Laini Taylor’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Review: Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  4. Pingback: Review: Gayle Forman’s and Myra McEntire’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  5. This was my first time reading Holly Black and I loved it! It’s one of my favorite stories from the collections (along with Stephanie Perkin’s story) and I loved that it was a little bit darker and a little bit different!

Leave a Reply

