Review: Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (My True Love Gave to Me)

It’s day four of my very own “Twelve Days of Christmas”, during which I’m reviewing one story per day from My True Love Gave to Me. So far I’ve reviewed Rainbow Rowell’s “Midnights”“The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link, and Matt de la Peña’s “Angels in the Snow”.

Today I’m reviewing Jenny Han’s story, “Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me.”

My True Love Gave to MeIMG_20141216_200742

This story is about a human girl named Natalie (or Natty) who is being raised at the North Pole by none other than Santa Claus. She lives and works with the elves, who have a much ruder attitude than you’d probably associate with elves. She’s been crushing on one of the elves for a long time, but she also met a human boy last year while delivering presents with her dad.

The story was cute though I can’t say there was much substance to it. It’s really just a fluffy story. It’s also really short, like 13 pages short. To me, it read more like a first chapter than an entire story with beginning, middle and end, which is how even a short story should read, at least to me.

The main character is a little whiny and spoiled. On the other hand, I did enjoy reading about how she got to live at the North Pole and the festivities that happen there in the lead up to Christmas. Overall, a cute story with a sweet, hopeful ending.

Tomorrow I’ll be reviewing the story I have a feeling I’m going to love the most: Stephanie Perkins’ “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown”, which I’m heading to read right now!

6 thoughts on “Review: Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (My True Love Gave to Me)

  1. I’m working my way through the same book at the moment. I wasn’t that crazy about this particular story. I thought it was a little bit… well, racist. It was fluffy and short, though; I’ll give it that. (So far, my favourite story has been Rainbow Rowell’s “Midnights”. I’m only up to Holly Black’s “Krampuslauf”… which I’m kind of struggling with; I’m not a fan of Holly Black’s writing.)

    I got this one from the library, and I’ve been knocking off one story a day… but that’s going to be cutting it close. I sure hope I can finish before it has to go back; I don’t want it to be a DNF!

    • My favorite so far was Stephanie Perkins (which I haven’t yet reviewed) with Rainbow Rowell’s a close second. I’m looking forward to Holly Black’s, though I’ve only read/listened to Doll Bones, which I liked. Hopefully I like it.
      I agree with what Selah said – the late fee for a book isn’t that much (at my library it’s only 15 cents a day!), so you should totally just keep it. Lol.

Leave a Reply

