Top Ten Tuesday: books that should be in your beach bag

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books That Should Be In Your Beach Bag or Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

toptentuesday

I’ve decided to do five books that I recommend you have in your beach bag and five books that I am looking forward to reading by the pool. To me, summer is the time to read a lot of YA and contemporary, so most of the books on the list are those genres.

*All covers linked to their corresponding Goodreads pages, in case you’d like to add them to your TBR. 🙂

5 books you should have in your beach bag:

Anna and the French KissLola and the Boy Next DoorSince You've Been GoneThe Truth about Forever

My reviews of Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and Since You’ve Been Gone.

And for those looking for something not so sweet:

The Lightning ThiefDuma Key

5 books I want to read by the pool this summer:

Isla and the Happily Ever AfterSecond Chance SummerThe Summer I Turned Pretty

Open Road SummerThe Spectacular Now

 

What are some of your favorite summer reads? Let me know so I can check them out. 🙂

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books that should be in your beach bag

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: books on my summer TBR | Caught Read Handed

  3. Ha Ha! I included The Lightening Thief on my TBR for the summer – Glad it’s recommended! I love Greek Mythology and will have to do a lot of driving around the state for work this summer – I thought it would be fun as a set of audio books.

  4. I definitely want to check out The Summer I Turned Pretty. I see Stephanie Perkins books everywhere but for some reason they never drew me in – have you read anything by her?

    • I really adore Stephanie Perkins. I’ve read both of her other books. You can check out my review of them HERE. This is the link to Anna and the French Kiss, and you can click over to Lola and the Boy Next Door if you are so inclined. 🙂 They are perfect summer reads: light, sweet, fun, and adorable.
      I just bought all three of The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy at Wal-Mart. They were packaged together for $10! I couldn’t turn that deal down.

  5. I’ve seen Anna and the French Kiss on most lists this week and I’m really curious to read it now! (I guess the title seemed a little silly to me before and it seemed more like a middle grade book to me rather than a YA read). Also, so excited to read more Morgan Matson this summer!

    • I know what you mean. Anna and the French Kiss was recommended to me by a friend and I was a little apprehensive, but I ended up really enjoying it, as well as Lola and the Boy Next Door. You can read my review of it HERE if you are interested. 🙂
      Me too! I loved Since You’ve Been Gone, so I’m definitely looking forward to reading her other ones. I’ve heard so many good things!

Leave a comment