Waiting on Wednesday: Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

UnderwaterPublisher: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux

Author: Marisa Reichardt

Release date: January 12, 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads: Morgan didn’t mean to do anything wrong that day. Actually, she meant to do something right. But her kind act inadvertently played a role in a deadly tragedy. In order to move on, Morgan must learn to forgive—first someone who did something that might be unforgivable, and then, herself.

But Morgan can’t move on. She can’t even move beyond the front door of the apartment she shares with her mother and little brother. Morgan feels like she’s underwater, unable to surface. Unable to see her friends. Unable to go to school.

When it seems Morgan can’t hold her breath any longer, a new boy moves in next door. Evan reminds her of the salty ocean air and the rush she used to get from swimming. He might be just what she needs to help her reconnect with the world outside.

Underwater is a powerful, hopeful debut novel about redemption, recovery, and finding the strength it takes to face your past and move on.

Why I’m excited: I can’t really explain why I am excited for this one. I mean, other than the fact that a lot people I respect are raving about it. And the fact that the description and cover are amazing. And the fact that this sounds like a powerful, beautiful, hard to read, honest contemporary. Okay, maybe I can explain it. I’m really looking forward to reading this debut.

8 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

  1. I really have to get going on this book! I have an ARC just sitting on my desk, but I still have to finish FIRSTS! It’s going to be a busy January for me. lol

    I can’t wait to see what you think of this one, so I’ll definitely be back to check out your review (if you write one)!

  2. I was in the same boat as you…I’ve been looking forward to reading it and I don’t know why, either, other than the fact that it just sounds go gripping and realistic.

Leave a comment