Excerpt Tour | Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I am so very excited to be kicking off the excerpt tour for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli! Before I give you the excerpt, let me tell you a little more about the book and where you can pre-order it. Trust me, you want to read this one. Check out my review to see just how much I LOVED Simon

About the book:

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens AgendaSixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Pre-order the book – B&N | Amazon | IndieBound

READY FOR THE EXCERPT? Here we go!

FROM: hourtohour.notetonote@gmail.com

TO: bluegreen118@gmail.com

DATE: Oct 30 at 9:56 PM

SUBJECT: Re: hollow wieners

Blue,

I guess I never tried to pull off something truly scary. My family is really all about the funny costumes. We used to get competitive about whose costume would make my dad laugh the hardest. My sister was a trash can one year. Not Oscar the Grouch. Just a trash can full of trash. And I was pretty much a one-trick pony. The boy-in-a-dress concept never got old (until it did, I guess—I was in fourth grade and had this amazing flapper costume, but then I looked in the mirror and felt this electric shock of mortification).

Now, I’ll say I aim for the sweet spot of simplicity and badassery. I can’t believe you’re not dressing up. Don’t you realize you’re throwing away the perfect opportunity to be someone else for an evening?

Disappointedly yours,

—Jacques

Head to Don’t Mind the Mess tomorrow for another excerpt from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and go ahead and place your pre-order. You don’t want to miss this one.

About Becky:

Becky AlbertalliBecky Albertalli is a clinical psychologist who has had the privilege of conducting therapy with dozens of smart, weird, irresistible teenagers; some of these experiences inspired her debut novel. She also served for seven years as co-leader of a support group for gender nonconforming children in Washington, DC. These days, she lives in Atlanta with her husband and two sons, and writes very nerdy contemporary young adult fiction. Visit her at www.beckyalbertalli.com and on Twitter: @beckyalbertalli.

6 thoughts on “Excerpt Tour | Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: US National Book Award Longlists 2015 - CreativeWriteOn

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Book Launch | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Monthly Bookish Awesomeness: March 2015 | Bookish and Awesome

  4. Pingback: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda Excerpt Tour: Day Five

  5. Pingback: Gay YA | Excerpt Tour: Simon VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

  6. Pingback: YA Alert: Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda - Don't Mind the Mess

Leave a comment