Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Didn’t Have Time to Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

Can I just say ALL the books? Haha. There were SO many books that came out this past year that I wanted to read. I’ll attempt to narrow it down to 10. Actually, I’m just going to list the first 10 that come to mind. 🙂

2014 books

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater – I actually plan on reading this in the next couple of weeks.

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith – I own this one and because I’m doing a challenge to read at least one full shelf on my physical TBR before I buy more books, I’ll be reading this soon

Echo Boy by Matt Haig – do I really need to explain this one? You all know how much I love Matt Haig’s books.

The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey – Pretty much only heard good things. And zombies? Yes, please.

Jackaby by William Ritter – “Doctor Who meets Sherlock”. Is this real life?

2014 books

Atlantia by Ally Condie – I’ve always loved the idea of Atlantis and this is a man-made underwater world? Yeah, hand it over.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell – I really enjoyed her other adult novel, Attachments, so I think I’ll like this one as well

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – EVERYONE seems to love this one. I ordered it for my library but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

Us by David Nicholls – sometimes you just need a sweet romance. I actually really enjoyed Nicholls other book One Day and was looking forward to Us. I hope to read it in the spring – seems like a good time for it.

White Space by Ilsa J. Bick – compared to Memento and Inception in the blurb, both of which I LOVE.

Honorable mentions:

Made for You by Melissa Marr
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick
Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Okay, I could seriously go on alllll day long. There were so many good-sounding books that came out in 2014. What 2014 releases did you not get to but wish you had? Link me up to TTT if you participated!

55 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Didn’t Have Time to Read

  1. I’ve been salivating over The Girl with All the Gifts for what feels like months. (Side note: is “salivating” too gross to use in reference to a zombie book? or just gross enough)? Anyway, very excited to finally get to it!

  2. Aaa, I thought I commented on this already…I hadn’t.
    Definitely want to read those too haha, especially 100 Sideways Miles & Atlantia by Ally Condie (her previous book were good) & Matt Haig. AND!! “Doctor Who meets Sherlock”? 😀 Seriously sounds so good XD

  3. Ohh there are a few of these I would REALLY like to read! Namely, The Girl with all the Gifts, 100 Sideways Miles, and Landline! And I own Atlantia, so I should probably get on that too! (I think I also may own Sinner and Jackaby…) And I’ll Give You the Sun was really, really good! Hope you get to read and enjoy these all soon!
    (I could have gone on all day too 😉 )

    • 😦 I’m sorry! I thought it was well-known. I kind of just guessed from the “she jokes she won’t bite” in the synopsis and then it’s also shelved as zombies on Goodreads. I’m really sorry to have spoiled anything!

      • Haha it is definitely not your fault! I guess the potential clue was there in the blurb but I was definitely hoping it was something else–loosely related to abilities or what-have-you! I think I only remember it being shelved as horror but without the specificity of it being zombie. Anyways–I was told that it was introduced early so its not super spoiler-y after all!

  4. Great list! Woah is Sinner part of the Forever Series, It looks like it but I have no idea that there was anything after the third book. Great picks and thanks for checking out my TTT. new bloglovin follower! ~ Katie

  5. I really enjoyed White Space! And I’m looking forward to reading Atlantia as well. I’ve read the first chapter or so in a teaser, but I haven’t had time to pick the rest of the book up yet.

  6. Sinner isn’t that good, so you didn’t miss that much if you are going to read it now in 2015. In other way, Fangirl is perfect. It’s totally touchy and lovely and sweet and cute. If there was more than 10 picks for this Top Ten Tuesday, I would have added Atlatia and I’ll give you the sun, but then again, there aren’t my top ten. Great list! my ttt

  7. Ohhhh you just reminded me of my copy of The Girl with all the gifts!! This is such a great reminder. I’m making a list of books to read from other people lists that I forgot to add to my list. * head spins*
    ❤️Britt @ pleasefeedthebookworm.com

  8. I’ve read Sinner and it’s really good, which surprised me because there’s so little fantasy in it. The Girl with all the Gifts, Atlantia, and Jackaby almost made my list, but I’ve read some mixed reviews so they were in the 10-20 instead of the top ten.

  9. Landline!! I can’t recommend this book enough. It was one of my favorite reads last year. I have seen how popular I’ll Give you the Sun is and contemplated giving it a try. I hope you get to read all of these this year! 🙂

Leave a comment