Book Review: Firecracker by David Iserson

My friend Annette aka Booknerderie sent me Firecracker for Christmas because, and I quote, “It’s hilarious and dry and sarcastic and the mc is an asshole and you would love it.”Firecracker She was right.
Let me go ahead and warn people who don’t like bad words that there are several in this review. It’s a necessity for this one.

Author:  David Iserson

Genre: Yontemporary, humor

Publisher: Razorbill

Publication Date: June 12, 2014

331 pages, paperback

Check out the synopsis on Goodreads.

“Astrid Krieger is such a bitch.” I love it. This book is hilarious, you guys. Ridiculously amusing. As is Astrid. She’s such an asshole and I completely love her. She’s unapologetic in her dickishness. She doesn’t care what you think about her and she does what she wants. She’s completely in love with herself. Now, if you know me at all, you can probably guess that 99.9999% of the time, I hate people like this. But in this case, it didn’t even bother me because she was just so damn funny. I was worried the book was going to feel really long because she’s such a jerk the whole time, but it didn’t. in fact, it was too short, in my opinion.

I know I’m only talking about Astrid but, really, she’s the only thing that matters – she’d probably say the same thing as well. But let me mention a few other things: this book, not just Astrid, was ridiculously amusing. There were more laugh out loud moments than I could count. I mean, David Iserson has written for SNL and New Girl. Of course he’s funny, and he does dialogue so well. The ending was perfect and wasn’t perfect. What I mean is that it wasn’t cookie cutter. It fit Astrid and her character.

To further prove it, here’s a quote:

My legs decided that they were no longer interested in holding my body up, which is total bullshit because they have one job. – Page 55

Couldn’t stop laughing after reading that. Especially because I couldn’t stop picturing this.

DW legs

The bottom line: I don’t know if I could be more obvious in my love of Firecracker. Read it. Now.

Rating: 9 – practically perfect

17 thoughts on “Book Review: Firecracker by David Iserson

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Laugh | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love but Haven’t Talked about Enough | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare | Caught Read Handed

  4. This sounds so fun! I will also have to join the “never heard of it” camp, and therefore I must ask where you heard about it. I love asshole characters.

  5. Ooh, this sounds fun. I don’t know if I could handle a book 100% about an asshole, but you said it’s not really your thing either, and you still loved it. It must have been amazing if you managed to give it a 9/10 without even mentioning the plot! I’ll have to look into it.

Leave a Reply

