Thursday Thoughts: Books to Read if You Like Orphan Black

ORPHAN BLACK RETURNS TONIGHT, YOU GUYS. OMG. I am so excited to head back into this world and see where the story goes next. And, by the way, if you haven’t watched this show yet, WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE? Seriously, this show is awesome.

I thought it’d be super fun to give you guys some book recs based on the show – books I think you’d enjoy if you like Orphan Black. They’ve been chosen because they have clones in them or they are sci-fi (some heavy on the science, which I think OB is), they are full of the awesome, dark atmosphere similar to OB or they are suspenseful and mysterious. I think these books – like Orphan Black – feel a bit scary because of how close they are to our society. They talk about the importance of human life and the choices we, as humans, have or should make.

6 Books to Read if You Like Orphan Black

A Thousand Pieces of You

A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU by Claudia Gray
While there are no clones present in this novel, I think the science and parallel universes will be of interest to Orphan Black fans.

The Handmaid's Tale

THE HANDMAID’S TALE by Margaret Atwood
This book is pretty much essential reading for not just OB fans but everyone. This one isn’t science fiction, but one of the best dystopian novels I’ve ever read. Like I mentioned earlier, this novel really makes you think about humanity and what it means to be human. Are clones (or Handmaids) worth less than others because of what they are?

Never Let Me Go

NEVER LET ME GO by Kazuo Ishiguro
Dark, sometimes confusing but always interesting sci-fi. Much like OB, it takes a bit to realize what’s happening, but once you do, WOAH. It’s intense, horrific, and so so good. Add in beautiful writing and you can’t go wrong.

Vitro

VITRO by Jessica Khoury
I think you can probably tell why I’m reccing this book just from the cover. Clones on the run for their lives. But on a remote island instead of Ontario, Canada. Yeah. Awesome.

Double Identity

DOUBLE IDENTITY by Margaret Peterson Haddix
You can’t really go wrong with Margaret Peterson Haddix. This is a great one for younger YA/MG-loving Orphan Black fans. Bethany’s family leaves her with an aunt she never knew in a town where everyone looks at her like they’ve seen a ghost.

The House of the Scorpion

THE HOUSE OF THE SCORPION by Nancy Farmer
A boy harvested from the DNA of the lord of a fictional country made to be a barrier between the US and Mexico. If that isn’t enough to intrigue you, this book has also won or been nominated for a ton of awards including the National Book Award (won), the Printz (nominated), and a Newbery Honor.

Have you guys read any of these? Do you have any other recommendations? ARE YOU EXCITED FOR SEASON FOUR OF ORPHAN BLACK?

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Books to Read if You Like Orphan Black

  1. I finally just watched the premier and why isn’t it Thursday again already?! I need to check out the House of the Scorpion and Vitro now! Need more clones!

  2. I think I’ve only made it through Season 2 of Orphan Black because I didn’t have cable/the channel for a really long time and have been watching the back episodes. I’m excited to add some of these books to my TBR until I can get caught up!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s