Top Ten Tuesday: My Auto-Buy Authors

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten of Your Auto-buy Authors

Books

1. Ian Rankin – Who’s surprised?
2. Matt Haig – I know you are all shocked.
3. Maggie Stiefvater – Oh, man. I’m just a bag full of surprises today.
4. Stephanie Perkins – Wuuuuut?
5. Jennifer E. Smith – No way!

Comics

1. Robert Kirkman (The Walking Dead) – aka 1 of the 2 authors who got me into comics.
2. Brian K. Vaughan (Saga) – aka the other author who got me into comic.
3. Peter J. Tomasi (Batman and Robin, Robin: Son of Batman) – aka the author who writes my favorite comic book character.

Authors who have only written one book but will be auto-buy in the future

1. Becky Albertalli
2. David Arnold
3. Jasmine Warga
4. Nicola Yoon
5. Adam Silvera
6. Renee Ahdieh

Authors who are automatic reads but not necessarily auto-buy

1. Sarah Dessen
2. J.K. Rowling (though I haven’t read her Robert Galbraith stuff yet)
3. Oliver Jeffers
4. John Green

Okay, this list is super long, but whatever. Who are your auto-buy/auto-read/auto-grabby-hands authors?

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Auto-Buy Authors

  1. I have officially added all of Jennifer E. Smith’s books to my TBR. I have to read another one of her books before I consider her an auto-buy though. My only real auto-buy author is Leigh Bardugo, which I’m sure you are aware of how much I adore her haha. The Rose and The Dagger will determine if Renee ends up being an auto-buy for me I think, LOVE the Wrath & The Dawn

  2. I haven’t read everyone on your list, but I’m so right there with you on Brian K. Vaughn! Saga was amazing and I am going to be working my way through his backlist. Also, J.K. Rowling. I haven’t read anything since HP yet, but I will still buy it all just to support her. And Ian Rankin! I bought Knots and Crosses like…. 5 years ago… and still haven’t read it. Perhaps I should get on that seeing as he’s the first name on your list. XD

  3. This is a great list. Renee Ahdieh actually has an adult book out as well as The Wrath and the Dawn. I can’t remember the name of it off the top of my head but I know that it exists.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Amanda

  4. Perkins, Stiefvater (bag of surprises Hahahaha), Schwab, Ilona Andrews, Tana French, Yoon (because reasons), Gabaldon, and I think there’s more but my brain isn’t producing words. I’ll think of them an hour from now and text you lol. Great post.

  5. Love your list. Still some authors I need to read on there. J.K. Rowling would definitely be on my auto reads list, although I haven’t read her Robert Galbraith stuff yet either.

Leave a comment