ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything by Nicola YoonAuthor:  Nicola Yoon

Genre: young adult, contemporary

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

320 pages, hardcover (307 ARC)

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

I’m going to start this review with what I updated my Goodreads status to as soon as I finished this book:

Oh, man. I don’t care how cheesy it is: I loved everything, everything about this book.

And I did. EVERYTHING. I read the whole thing in one afternoon. I cannot believe this is Nicola Yoon’s debut. We’ve had so many amazing debuts this year! If this is her first book, I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. Nicola’s writing is absolutely beautiful. I LOVED the inclusion of emails, journal entries, diagrams, medical records, and more. You know me: I think including multiples mediums in a book adds so much to the story, and Nicola wove all of these elements together so well.

I just adore Maddy. She’s strong and fierce and doesn’t let her condition get her down. All of the relationships she had with the other characters in the book felt so honest and genuine. Also, I personally fell in love with Olly right away, but I really appreciated that it wasn’t instalove between Maddy and Olly – you guys know how much I hate that. The way the two of them got to know each other way too cute, and I loved every second.

There are so many emotions in this one, you guys. SO MANY EMOTIONS. My heart was breaking and swelling all at the same time. Everything, Everything is exactly what a contemporary book should be and so much more.

The bottom line: I’m just going to say it again: I loved everything, everything about this book. Nicola – please keep writing!

Rating: 9 – practically perfect

P.S. Shout out to the lovely April from Between the Pages for getting me an ARC of this at BEA!

25 thoughts on “ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads | Caught Read Handed

  2. Aghh! Your review got me more excited to read this book! As you know, I just got it recently, I have to get to it sooner or later although I’ve heard scary things about the ending making or breaking the book for people. But we’ll see!

  3. I’m glad to see this book had . . . everything, everything you were looking for in a good read! (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself! I’ll be here all week!)

  4. I am so happy that you enjoyed this book! I loved it just as much as you. It was fantastic and it deserves ALL THE HYPE! 😄
    Olly is such a wonderful male character, I fell for him immediately. The way Nicola Toon described him… I could picture him I clearly in my head as someone I would fancy.
    And our main character Maddy was lovely. She wasn’t frustrating or overly naive.
    Wonderful review. xoxo

  5. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book! I plan to read this this week as part of Bout of Books! I agree, there have been so many wonderful debuts this year! Mosquitoland is one of my favorite debuts this year!

Leave a Reply

