Top Ten Tuesday: ALL TIME FAVORITES from the past 3 years

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS from the past 3 years (you can extend it to 5 if you need to).

Could they have come up with a HARDER topic? I don’t even know where to start. In the past three years, I’ve read somewhere around 400 or more books (I didn’t start recording until last year, but I read 157 books last year so multiplying that by almost 3). How do you possibly narrow that down to the ten you loved the most? I feel a little like this:

But I’m going to try. Here we go.

The Humans  S.  Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin  The Dream Thieves  My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

The Humans by Matt Haig. This book is beautiful and honest and real and it makes you appreciate what it means to be human and to be alive.

S. by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst. is like a love letter to books. It’s a work of art, a masterpiece, and I devoured it. S. is the epitome of why I want to work with books.

Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin. Favorite author. Favorite character by favorite author. Favorite character by favorite author meets another character from a different series by favorite author and the results are spectacular.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. My favorite book of the series so far. As I said in my review, “I cannot fathom reading a series more powerful, magical, spellbinding, or beautiful as the Raven Cycle books.”

My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. You might’ve noticed in my review that I related to this book in so many unexpected, wonderful and horrible ways and I loved that.

The Day the Crayons Quit Cover  It's Kind of a Funny Story  The Passage  Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins  The Walking Dead, Volume 1 cover

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers. You might have read about how much I loved this book. It’s ridiculously creative and fun, and it’s illustrated by the incredible Oliver Jeffers. I just found out there’s going to be a sequel this year and I am so pumped!

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. Like MH&OBH, this was a tough one for me to read, but it’s so so good. My review

The Passage by Justin Cronin. This book turns the creepy factor up to eleven, and I raced through its 963 pages in just a couple of days. Vampires who are unlike any vampires you’ve ever seen.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I had to put a contemporary on here. Before last year, I hardly read ANY contemporaries (except the occasional Sarah Dessen), but after reading Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone and Perkins’ Anna books, I’m seeking contemporaries out and reading so many more. Lola is my spirit animal and Cricket is my number one book boyfriend. My review

The Walking Dead, volume 1 by Robert Kirkman. My second foray into comics (after Saga, volume 1). TWD is what hooked me and got me obsessed with comics. I read all the (then) 20 volumes of TWD that were already out in about 2 weeks. TWD gets all the credit for pulling me into comics. My review

I could seriously go on for at least 20 more books/comics, but I’ll stop here. What books that you’ve read in the past three years are now ALL TIME FAVORITES?

62 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: ALL TIME FAVORITES from the past 3 years

  1. This is such a hard topic! I was going to pass on TTT this week, but I might have to do a belated TTT because this is such a great (although challenging) post. I’d agree with you on Lola for sure. I haven’t read My Heart and Other Black Holes or the Raven Boys yet, but they are on my TBR.

    • It was SO hard, but it also ended up being a lot of fun looking at all the books I’ve read in the past few years. Even if you don’t end up doing an official post, I’d be interested in what books you classify as favorites!
      Both of those books are incredible. I hope you get to read them soon!

  2. I’ve seen a lot of Stephanie Perkin’s books on TTT posts today, and I think it’s so interesting to see which of the three that people pick! (I’ve seen a lot of Isla’s so far!) I actually went to continue the Raven Cycle last night (with BLLB) but I felt so disconnected from the series since it’s been like four months since I read the Dream Thieves. Hopefully I can get into the story soon!

  3. S. is an amazing book–complicated and weird, just how I like them.

    Goodreads helps me so much with TTT, but I admit some books I leave off just because they’ve been on a different list recently.

  4. S is on my TBR. i wish I could get it but it’s so darn expensive. Loved your description of Lola and Cricket! 😀

    • Haha. No, it was last year. It was really hard to leave it off. It would’ve been in my honorable mentions if I’d done one. You know how much I loved those books, so just imagine how much I love these. 🙂

      • I have bought The Passage back when it was released and it was so daunting because of its massive-ness. Then I found out that there would be a sequel and didn’t want to read it until that was released. I definitely have to read it!
        Also, you mentioned The Humans quite a few times as a great book and I want to get my hands on it 😀

        • The sequel is out, Rita! It’s been out for over a year or so – it’s called The Twelve. Both have big page counts but they are SO GOOD. I know they are a little daunting but in the end they are totally worth it.
          I recommend The Humans to every single person I can. Everyone needs to read that book.

  5. I haven’t read any of these! 😦 Blogging sure makes your to-read list miles long, but it’s great to find new books!

    • I don’t know if it’s quite that many, but I read 157 books last year, so multiply that times 3 and you get 471. I rounded down. Lol. I read so many different kinds of books, so I had to vary my list! 🙂

Leave a comment