BookBlogWriMo: Favorite Book Tropes

bookblogwrimo

Today’s BookBlogWriMo theme is “Favorite Book Tropes.” This one is a little bit difficult for me, because I’m not a fan of Manic Pixie Dream Girls or really any other clichés in literature, but I’ll have a go.

  1. The tortured hero. I LOVE a tortured/complex/completely messed up main character/villain/secondary character. Give me a screwed up character over Mr./Ms. Perfect any day.
  2. I do really like the recent-ish trend of female leads, though I have begun to tire of every single book/series having a female protagonist.
  3. Epistolary novels. I don’t know if this is technically a trope or just a format for novels, but I love them. Letters, journal entries, texts, whatever. I love them.
  4. The quirky best friend. She’s a little weird, a little strange, funny, loyal, and just what the main character needs by her side.
  5. Plagues that kill practically everyone, but the main character has some special resistance. I don’t know why, but I love this trope. As long as the character is mopey about what’s happening to him/her and is a strong character who wants to fight for what’s right, I’m down.
  6. The Wise Old Sage Mentor with a twist – give me a wise old mentor who’s actually a small child or a supernatural/fantastical creature and I’ll be all over that.
  7. Protagonist is suddenly able to see magical creatures that have always been there but hidden. Okay, this one is hit or miss for me, but I think it’s an interesting concept that, when done right, is super awesome.

What are your favorite book tropes? I think I might have to do a post about my least favorite because I could list those all day.

6 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo: Favorite Book Tropes

  1. Pingback: BookBlogWriMo 2014 Intro and Sign Up Post | Caught Read Handed

Leave a Reply

