Waiting on Wednesday: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

LandlinePublisher: St. Martin’s Press

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Release date: July 8, 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Eleanor & Park andFangirl, comes a hilarious, heart-wrenching take on love, marriage, and magic phones.

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply—but that almost seems beside the point now.
Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her—Neal is always a little upset with Georgie—but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts. . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Why I can’t wait:

I really enjoyed Rowell’s other adult book, Attachments, and though I still haven’t read her two YA novels (I know, what am I doing with my life?), I am looking forward to reading another of Rowell’s books. I’ve heard mixed things, mostly about people not liking it because it deals with marriage and they can’t relate because they aren’t married, but I think the novel sounds great. I can’t wait to check it out! Plus, I really like that cover. Simple yet pretty. Gray and yellow look so nice together. 🙂

What books are you excited about?

26 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’m so excited for this one! I like to break up my YA TBR with adult fiction every so often, and I think that’s easier when you’re reading an author that you already know and love (I’ve only read Fangirl by Rowell and I really liked it!)

  2. I haven’t read any of her books yet! I have the ebook version of both Fangirl and Eleanor & Park, and I own Attachments. Out of the 3 which one would you recommend I read first?

    My WoW

    • Well I’ve actually only read Attachments. I’ve been wanting to check out her YA for a while. I would definitely recommend Attachments, but I’ve heard great things about all of her books.
      Thanks for stopping by! Heading to check out yours now. 🙂

  3. Time travel is always a tricky thing to write about. Using a phone to talk to the past is a cool idea. I’d so be tempted to fix more than my marriage! (Which as we all know from these sorts of books would probably mess up the whole time continuum, but hey it’d be a fun ride.)

  4. I’ve only read Fangirl which I LOVED, but to be honest, I don’t think I would enjoy her other books as much. They just don’t seem to be my style, I guess. I do agree though that all of her book covers are equally gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

