Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If You Like The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I’ve decided to go with one of my absolute favorite books, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, for this one. All of the books I’m recommending as readalikes aren’t necessarily exactly like Perks; instead, I’ve chosen books that have similarities in writing, plot, characters, feels, overall feeling while reading, etc. There’s a wide range of books here, so hopefully everyone can find something they’d like. I’ve got contemporaries, a bit of sci-fi, some non-fiction, and a couple of middle grades. Here we go (all covers linked to Goodreads):

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time     It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini     My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga     More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera      Mosquitoland by David Arnold     I'll Give You the Sun     The Humans by Matt Haig     Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig     Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer     Rain Reign      Wonder

Link me up to your TTTs!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If You Like The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. I really liked Perks of Being a Wallflower because it was so much like The Catcher In The Rye which is one of my favorites! I just got More Happy Than Not on my eReader and I can’t wait to get started on that. I’ve been eyeing Mosquitoland for some time now so I really wanna read that too. Great picks, Stefani! 😀

  2. I haven’t read or watched Perks. I feel like I’m probably too old. 😉 I did read The Humans, because you are a book pusher and also who can really resist a book with a giant nose on the cover!?! The Silver Linings Playbook felt similar to The Humans for me, but I don’t know how it would compare to Perks.

  3. I haven’t read The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I saw the movie and liked it. I don’t know if the movie is a good representation of the book. It’s Kind of a Funny Story is one of my favorite books. I’m happy to see it on your list. I read My Heart and Other Black Holes this year and really liked it as well. I’ll Give You the Sun is on my shelf. I’m hoping to get to it soon.

  4. I’ve put Wonder in my cart at Book Depository several times but i always end up taking it out at check out. Dont know why. You make me really want to get it now. Happy reading!

Leave a comment