ARC Review: Enchantment Lake by Margi Preus

Enchantment Lake by Margi PreusAuthor:  Margi Preus
Genre: Young adult, mystery
Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
Publication Date: March 15, 2015
200 pages, hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

NOTE: I was provided with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the Univ. of Minnesota Press for letting me read this!

The thing that drew me to this book was its cover, duh. Look at that cover. It’s gorgeous. I didn’t really even know much about what the book was about and by the time I read it, I couldn’t remember at all. So this book was pretty much read solely for its cover. Oops.

I was confused while reading this book – not because I didn’t understand what was happening but because I don’t think this book really knows what it was trying to do. It felt a little like a middle grade novel but then there’d be drinking or other things that wouldn’t normally be included in a MG book. It was such a weird experience.

At least the mystery was good. You were lead to believe it could be several different people and I definitely thought it was someone else at first, so that was cool. The overall story was entertaining and interesting. On the other hand, the characters weren’t really developed that well. I could picture Francie, the main character, and I felt like I knew people like her crazy-old-lady aunts, though I couldn’t actually see them nor did I think they were really the type of characters we were meant to see. As for everyone else, I have no idea who they are or what they look like.

I felt like the ending didn’t match up with the rest of the book. I felt like Francie changed rapidly and the tone of the book was super different suddenly. I also felt like this was the beginning of a series because there were several unanswered questions and things that happened in the book that were just barely introduced and never finished.

However, the book was quirky and strange and decidedly curious. It’s quick to read and I had fun doing so. I’ve got to say that I enjoyed it overall and I would be interested in reading a sequel if there is one.

The bottom line: Not what I expected and a little confusing in tone, but interested enough to want to read a sequel to find out the answers to the multiple unanswered questions in Enchantment Lake.

Rating: 6.5 – between good, but not great and pretty good

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Enchantment Lake by Margi Preus

Leave a Reply

