Top Ten Tuesday: Books I read in 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books I Read In 2014 (Overall, By A Particular Genre, 2014 Releases)

This is one of the hardest TTT posts I’ve ever had to do. I read SO MANY good books this year. Because of that, I’m going to list more than ten books. Sorrynotsorry. I’m going to give you a list of books published before 2014 that I read this year and a list of books published during 2014. Hope that’s okay! All of the titles are linked to my reviews.

Published BEFORE 2014

It's Kind of a Funny StoryLola and the Boy Next DoorMaze Runner cover image
The Incredible Book Eating Boy CoverThis Is What Happy Looks LikeThe Day the Crayons Quit Cover

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Every single book I read by Oliver Jeffers (you can find all my reviews under this tag – sorry it has some other stuff in there too)
This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith
The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, illustrated by Oliver Jeffers

Published DURING 2014

Since You've Been GoneThe Young ElitesBlue Lily, Lily BlueLet's Get Lost
Love Letters to the DeadRivers by Michael Farris SmithRain Reign

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
The Young Elites by Marie Lu
Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid
Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
Rivers by Michael Farris Smith
Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

Well, look at that. I only went THREE over. I will stop there because I could probably list about 50, but I don’t think you guys would be too happy with that. What are the top books you read this year?

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I read in 2014

  1. Brilliant list! I LOVED The Maze Runner (think I read that one last year) and I really enjoyed This is What Happy Looks Like but it didn’t quite make my TTT. Aside from that I haven’t read any of the others but they are now all on by TBR! I’ve seen Since You Been Gone on lots of lists this week so that one’s a must-read for me now.

  2. I love that you included The Day the Crayons Quit. That book is so awesome. I must read Love Letters to the Dead. I have seen it a few places, and I’ve wanted to read it for months.

    • I try to keep my lists really well-rounded. I read children’s books, comics, middle grade, YA, adult, etc, so I want to reflect that in my lists. 🙂
      You really should! It’s very good. If you like The Perks of Being a Wallflower, you’ll probably like Love Letters to the Dead.

  3. So happy to see BLLB on so many lists. 🙂 Since You’ve Been Gone is also a favorite of mine. And I just bought The Day the Crayons Quit for my daughter…I can’t wait to read it with her! Great list!

  4. Stefani says hi to Stefani 😀

    I’ve only read Lola from the books on your list. Not my favorite Stephanie Perkins book but very good. This comment is all about the Stef/ph/ani/es it seems 😀

    • Aw. That’s okay. Lola is my favorite book because Cricket is my favorite of the three boys. 🙂
      That’s funny. When I met Stephanie Perkins and had her sign my books, she crossed out the “ph” in her name and wrote an “f” and then crossed out the “e” at the end. 🙂

    • Lola’s my favorite book of the three. Probably because Cricket is my favorite of the boys. 🙂
      Yay for more people reading The Day the Crayons Quit! I think everyone should read that one. Definitely not just for kids.

  5. I still need to read Rain Reign! When I saw Ann M. Martin had a new book out for 2014, I was so excited! I grew up with her Babysitter’s Club Books and love her writing. I started The Young Elites but had to return it to the library. I’m planning to secure a copy soon–it was intriguing!

Leave a Reply

