SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [9]

The lovely Cristina over at Girl in the Pages started Sunday Funday as a way to recap the bookish (and not-so-bookish) things that have happened that week.

July 21 – 27, 2014

This week was relatively uneventful other than work. I did go see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes yesterday, which was alright. I don’t think it lived up to my expectations, and it definitely wasn’t as good as the first one. :/

I posted A LOT on the blog this week, but I’d like to highlight my review of One Past Midnight and The Walking Dead, Volume 1 Review.

Coming up on the blog this week: 2 (possibly 3) children’s book reviews; my review of Saga [volume 3]; my review of Samuel Blink and the Forbidden Forest by Matt Haig; my review of Arkham Asylum; Top Ten Tuesday; Waiting on Wednesday; Summer Blogger Promo Tour post with Dana Square

Books read: This week I read several children’s books, including The Way Back Home by Oliver Jeffers and The Incredible Book Eating Boy also by Jeffers; reviews of both of these to come soon.

I read Arkham Asylum by Grant Morrison (illustrated by Dave McKean) and HOLY CRAP, did I love it. I need to buy my own copy so I can reread it several more times.

I also read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I’ve got to say that I was pretty disappointed with this book. I don’t think I’m going to be reviewing this one, though I may change my mind in the future. For now, Khanh at The Book Nookery’s review of the book http://bookistry.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/jenny-han-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-1/ pretty much perfectly sums up how I feel about it.

I tried my first audiobook this week! It was The Dead Fathers Club by Matt Haig and read by Andrew Dennis. They found the absolute perfect reader. I loved it.

TBR: My wonderful friend Jo (aka Drifting Pages) sent me a package for my birthday that included Ian Rankin’s stage play The Dark Road and The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (I’ve already read this, but I wanted to own the beautiful UK cover – with the lobster –  and not the hideous US cover – the horrible yellow one).

     

I was also approved for several titles on Netgalley that I’m super excited about, including Of Monsters and Madness by Jessica Verday – which I’m kind of freaking out about!

My awesome boss also lent me the first several issues of the Batman & Robin comics.

I’ve got a lot of awesome stuff to read!

Non-bookish things I’m excited about:

Teen Wolf. Always.

I bought some yummy hummus and naan bread. Pretty excited about that. Lol.

I’m meeting Annette aka Booknerderie in less than three weeks! Yay! 🙂

6 thoughts on “SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [9]

  1. I almost went to see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, but we decided on Lucy instead. (Which was just okay, got a bit strange towards the end.) I know what you mean, it’s hard writing a review for a book that I didn’t like. That’s so cool that you and Ann are getting together! I hope you make a post about it. 🙂

    • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes was a little disappointing, which sucks. I was trying to choose between it and Lucy too. But if you think it’s just okay, I might just wait until it comes out on DVD so I can rent it.
      Oh, I’ll definitely be doing a post about meeting up with her!

Leave a Reply

