Children’s Book Review: The Wolves in the Walls by Neil Gaiman

If you read my review of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, then you probably know how much I love the pair of Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean. I adore Neil Gaiman’s writing, and Dave McKean’s illustrations are phenomenal (I’m a little bit obsessed with his illustrations).

The Wolves in the Walls cover

This book was the same for the most part. I LOVED McKean’s illustrations – even though they were quite creepy throughout the book. This is definitely not a book for really young kids. At times, it even reminded me a little of Arkham Asylum because of how crazy and creepy the illustrations were.

If the wolves come out of the walls, then it’s all over.

The Wolves in the Walls 1

The point of the book, I believe, was to emphasize just how silly fear can be sometimes. In essence, the book is about a young girl named Lucy who hears some scratching and noises in the walls in her house and believes that it is wolves. Her family thinks she’s crazy for thinking so, but then one day what happens? The wolves come out of the walls. Lucy’s family retreats out into the woods for fear of being eaten and the wolves take up residence in the house. Until they begin to hear noises in the walls as well.

The Wolves in the Walls 2

Fear is a silly thing and most of the time the noises you hear are really nothing more than a branch on your window or the wind pushing up against an old house. The biggest monsters are usually the easiest to be rid of.

Awesome illustrations, interesting story, wonderful book.

Publication info:

The Wolves in the Walls

Written by Neil Gaiman; illustrated by Dave McKean

Published by HarperCollins; July 2005

56 pages (hardcover)

7 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review: The Wolves in the Walls by Neil Gaiman

  1. So I was researching images on this book for my powerpoint presentation tomorrow and I stumbled upon this post! I just thought it was hilarious that I managed to find you on google. You brought up a good point in your review and fear really is a silly thing. (On the other hand, I’m doing this for children’s lit so hopefully, my professor will accept this for 5th graders…)

  2. Hi Stefani! I was referred to you by Jo (http://driftingpages.wordpress.com) who said that you would be a good person to talk to about improving on my blog. I’m 17, an aspiring English Lit student and I started my blog in March, so if you want check that out that would be SO nice of you, I could really use some feedback (negative or positive, I’m open to anything!) 🙂
    I also noticed on your blog you said one of your favourite genres was dystopian, and that’s the same with me, I just finished reading Fahrenheit 451, what are your favourite novels in the genre? I’d love to chat about them.
    Thanks! Phoebe x

    • Hi Phoebe! I’ve just checked out your blog. I really like the “Read if you like” section you do in your reviews. That’s a great idea! If you have any questions you’d like to ask me, you can email me at caughtreadhanded[at]gmail[dot[com. It’d probably be easier to talk through that.
      I LOVE dystopian. My favorite novels in the genre are probably Wool by Hugh Howey, Lord of the Flies by William Golding, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, Fahrenheit 451, and The Giver by Lois Lowry. There’s more, but those are the ones that immediately come to mind. Oh, and The Hunger Games. 🙂

Leave a comment