Waiting on Wednesday: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

Wink Poppy MidnightPublisher: Dial Books

Author: April Genevieve Tucholke

Release date: March 22, 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The intrigue of The Virgin Suicides and the “supernatural or not” question of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer coalesce in this young adult mystery, where nothing is quite as it seems, no one is quite who you think, and everything can change on a dime.

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

For fans of Holly Black, We Were Liars, and The Raven Boys, this mysterious tale full of intrigue, dread, beauty, and a whiff of something strange will leave you utterly entranced.

Why I’m excited: Other than the fact that this says it’s for fans of Holly Black and THE RAVEN BOYS, this synopsis sounds fantastic. I don’t even really know what this book is about but I know that I NEED TO READ IT. The cover is gorgeous, there’s a strange, wild girl, a sweet boy, and a manipulative queen bee. Mixing all of those together sounds like a wonderfully odd story with beautiful or terrible consequences. I really liked Tucholke’s story in Slasher Girls and Monster Boys because the writing was so beautiful, so I’m looking forward to reading a longer story by her.