Top Ten Tuesday: Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession (bought, library, review copies)

In no particular order, mostly because I can’t remember in which order I got these. All titles linked to Goodreads.

Court of Fives by Kate Elliott     Hunter by Mercedes Lackey     The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner     The Darkest Minds by Alexandrra Bracken     Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

Court of Fives by Kate Elliott – from publisher, thanks again The Novl!
Hunter by Mercedes Lackey – from Emma because she’s awesome
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner– from the author; follow him on Twitter! His book publishes next year!
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – from Kelly for a trade
Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat – from the library

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan     Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins     Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical Creatures     Tales from the Arabian Nights translated by Sir Richard Francis Burton     Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – from Jo who got the book signed for me and mailed it across the ocean!
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – from OTSP Secret Sister, Mariah, signed by the author. It says, “Cricket is yours.” !!!!!!
Pip Barlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures – from Xander for a trade
Tales from the Arabian Nights translated by Sir Richard Francis Burton – bought, recommended by Renee Ahdieh
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – from April just because she’s super kind

If you couldn’t tell, I’m trying not to buy books for a while, but I still keep getting amazing books from author people. Oops. Thank you again to all of the wonderful people who’ve either sent me books just because or because I’ve traded with you. You are all awesome.

ARC Review: The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty LoganAuthor:  Kirsty Logan

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian

Publisher: Crown Publishing

Publication Date: May 19, 2015

320 pages, hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

Do you ever read a book that is just so beautiful you almost can’t describe it? That’s The Gracekeepers for me. I’ve been wanting to read this book for months, and I wasn’t disappointed in the slightest by it. How to put it into words though? Okay… Look at that cover. See how it’s both intriguing and a little strange? Calm and peaceful but somewhat disturbing? That’s this book. This book is all of those things and so much more.

I was sucked into this world of damplings (those who live on the sea) and landlockers (those who live on land) as soon as I started reading. Sometime in the future most of the land has vanished and a vast majority of people now live on water, travelling from island to island to trade or in the case of North, the main character, to perform as part of a travelling circus. The politics and dynamics of this world were fascinating and through North, the bear-girl, and Callanish, the gracekeeper, this world was brought to vivid life. Gracekeepers are those that perform a Resting ritual to lay damplings who have past to rest in the ocean. I can’t even begin to describe how beautiful and haunting the descriptions of those Restings were.

I just loved this story. Kirsty’s prose is gorgeous and lyrical and I could barely put the book down because I was so enchanted by it. Her world building is fantastic. I had a few hiccups with understanding what had happened to the world as there’s no real explanation for why the world is mostly water. Also, you guys might know how much I love Scotland, and The Gracekeepers weaves in some Scottish folklore and mythology which I adored.

All of the characters were so well done that even the ones I hated, I loved. I thought it was smart that the POVs rotated throughout the book; we didn’t just get North and Callanish’s POV, but also the clowns, the ringmaster, an acrobat, and several others. None of them felt like I was reading the same character. Each was distinct and well-done (my favorite might’ve been the clowns for their description of the ringmaster’s wife as a “horse-bitch”). My only complaint here is that I wanted more time with each of the characters, especially Callanish, to learn more about them.

The bottom line: The Gracekeepers is a magical book. It will enchant you from its first page. It felt like a fairy tale of sorts, and I would highly recommend it.

Rating: 8 – Freaking fantastic

Waiting on Wednesday: The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty LoganPublisher: Crown Publishing

Author: Kirsty Logan

Release date: May 19, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction.

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

Why I’m excited: I know Kirsty, but that’s not why I’m excited. “Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales” – you guys know how much I love Scotland. A circus. A name like Callanish. Loneliness, isolation, joy, and hope. I can’t even tell you how much I want to read this one. It sounds really wonderful, and I am definitely looking forward to reading The Gracekeepers. Plus, look at that beautiful cover. Can I just have it now, please and thank you?