Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Book Quotes from the Past Year

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

“When you were born, you cried while the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries while you rejoice.” Mosquitoland by David Arnold

“I will be STRONGER than my sadness” My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

“Life is waiting for you. You might be stuck here for a while, but the world isn’t going anywhere. Hang on in there if you can. Life is always worth it.” Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

“No, Lila had been running toward something. Something better. And even if she hadn’t reached it yet. She would.”

AND

“I’m not going to die,” she said. “Not till I’ve seen it.”
“Seen what?”
Her smile widened. “Everything.” A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

“Because there’s no denying it now. I’m in the world
And, too, the world is in me.” Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing something that brings you joy.” A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

“I fall a little bit in love with everyone.” Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

“Quick, make a wish.
Take a (second or third or fourth) chance.
Remake the world.”  I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

“So now live for real, Craig. Live. Live. Live. Live.
Live.” It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

What are some of your favorite book quotes?

The Emoji Book Tag

I was tagged by Lizzy at My Little Book Blog to do the Emoji Book Tag. I don’t have an iPhone which means I don’t really have emojis, but I’m going to use some of my favorites and a few that I use on Twitter. Basically, you’re supposed to go through your phone and figure out your 5 most frequently used emojis and then match up a book to the emoji.

Kissy face emoji

I use this emoji on Twitter a bunch when I’m talking to bloggers or authors, but for me A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is the most recent representation of this book because you just want ALL THE MAKE OUT SCENES.

Heart eyes emoji

I use the heart eyes emoji A LOT because I read a bunch of books that I just adore. The heart eyes emoji is just perfect when you fall in love with the characters in a book, like I did when I read Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. Simon and Blue are just so freaking adorable and I had heart eyes the whole time I was reading the book.

Unamused face emoji

I just finished Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets to the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, and while I ended up liking it okay, I was just not over the moon with it. I think I was partly a victim of the hype monsters but I also didn’t connect with it as much as I was hoping. I had the unamused face during all the part that the book dragged.

Face Screaming in Fear emoji

This one is technically called the “Face Screaming in Fear Emoji” but I’m taking it to mean “Holy crap, I did NOT see that coming emoji”. The book that perfectly sums up that emoji for me is Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. I was totally shocked by the development near the end of the book, and even though I knew something was going to happen, I didn’t know it was going to be THAT.

Airplane Emoji

I’m a wanderer, a traveler. I have a need to travel, and I feel restless when I don’t, so I feel like I’d use the airplane emoji a lot when I’m feeling the need to plan my next trip. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith perfectly matches to this emoji as the two main characters meet in an airport and then wind up next to each other on a flight across the ocean.

I’m tagging:

Rachel at Confessions of a Book Geek
Brandie at Brandie is a Book Junkie
Shannon at It Starts at Midnight
Shelumiel at Bookish and Awesome
Katherine at Neon Yeti Reads

AND YOU!!

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasAuthor:  Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance/New Adult

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Publication Date: May 5, 2015

416 pages, ARC & Hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

Shout out to the wonderful Little Shop of Stories for letting me take this ARC! Check them out if you’re ever in Decatur, GA!

Can you say SEXY? I mean, goodness, I was not expecting this book. I’ve got to start with romance in ACOTAR because it’s…seductive. I don’t want you to think that the whole thing is full of sex or anything; it’s just that those few scenes are hot hot hot. Tamlin will make you SWOON. But he isn’t the only character who you’ll fall for. There’s plenty of sexy characters to completely fall in love with, including our kick-ass heroine, Feyre (what an awesome name!).

The world building is stunning, as was expected. The fairie courts and world are so interesting and well-done that I could’ve pictured the land without the addition of the map (though I’m a sucker for a book with a map). I hope we get to see even more of this world in the next book (WHICH NEEDS TO COME OUT TOMORROW!). I just LOVED this world of fairies, beasts, flowers, art, magical eyes, darkness, beautiful manors, Tamlin, Rhys, and magic magic magic. Quick little shout out to our weirdly attractive anti-hero Rhys. I won’t go into much detail here other than to say GET READY.

You may or may not know that this is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Because of it, it’s obvious what is going to happen from the beginning. You know who Feyre’s going to fall in love with, but the path getting there and what happens after is so absolutely amazing, different, and cool that it doesn’t matter. The world, the characters, the magic are all unique, but it definitely still feels like a fairy tale.

The bottom line: Incredible world. Fantastic retelling. Beautiful magic. Awesome characters. SEXY times. Well-deserved hype. I NEED more.

Rating: 9 – practically perfect

Waiting on Wednesday – A Court of Thorns and Roses

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

A Court of Thorns and RosesPublisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Release date: May 5, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Why I’m excited: Seriously, who isn’t waiting on this one? I feel like almost everyone in the book blogging world is looking forward to it, and I am seriously jealous of everyone who’s received an ARC of A Court of Thorns and Roses (they all came with a beautiful mask). I feel like all I keep seeing on Twitter is “AHHH! I love ACOTAR!! It’s amazing!” and then I just feel the NEED all over again. Beauty and the Beast, fairies, a kick ass heroine, magic, Sarah J. Maas? I don’t really need anything else, honestly. It sounds really awesome, and I can’t wait to read it! Also, it’s “sexy and action-packed”? Can I have this NOW, please?