In Which I Wish I Was on the Road (YA Road Trip Novels)

Hey guys! So I’m sure you know by now how much I LOVE traveling and being on the road to somewhere, anywhere. I love seeing new places and meeting new people and just driving. But sometimes you just can’t go and you have to see those new places in books, which, sometimes, is totally cool with me. I love living vicariously through the characters in the novels I’m reading, especially if they are on a road trip.

Road map

I found out that the first week of April was actually Read a Road Map Week (you know, one of those pointless, unnecessary “holidays” that are all over the place), and I thought it’d be fun to put together a list of some of my favorite road trip books. So here are five of my favorites as well as three I want to read. DEFINITELY recommend me road trip books if you know of any not on my list!

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

MOSQUITOLAND by David Arnold
Mississippi >>> Ohio

Let's Get Lost

LET’S GET LOST by Adi Alsaid
Louisiana >>> Alaska

Paper Towns

PAPER TOWNS by John Green
Florida >>> New York

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME by Mark Haddon
Swindon, England >>> London, England
(okay, this one is more of a train ride but any chance I have to mention this book, I will)

Don't Fail Me Now by Una LaMarche

DON’T FAIL ME NOW by Una LaMarche
Baltimore, Maryland >>> California

THREE ROAD TRIP NOVELS I WANT TO READ

OPEN ROAD SUMMER by Emery Lord
AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR by Morgan Matson
THE DISENCHANTMENTS by Nina LaCour

12 thoughts on “In Which I Wish I Was on the Road (YA Road Trip Novels)

  1. I was just looking at my shelf this morning thinking that I need to read Paper Towns. I bought it a loooong time ago, but have never gotten to it. I also SO recommend The Disenchantments. All of Nina LaCour’s books are good, but I think that one is my favorite. Also The Haters by Jesse Andrews just came out and I thought it was really weird and funny. Definitely not a book for everyone, but if you like boy books, it’s worth reading 🙂

  2. I love a good roadtrip book, especially since it’s the summer here at our place in the Philippines. I still have to read most of these books. And I just added some to my TBR 🙂

    I know that this is a bit of a stretch from your usual reads, but I would suggest reading Dan Brown’s books if I want to read about European travel. It gives me wanderlust everytime, and the way he describes the landmarks incorporated within the mystery gives me the itch to travel to Europe and see the marvelous sites myself.

Leave a Reply

