Thursday Thoughts: Reaction to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Trailer

In the past, I would share book to movie adaptation news with you guys because I absolutely love those, but it’s been a while since I posted about any adaptations. You guys seemed to like when I did, so I’m going to try to get back into that, because I really love the discussions we’d have.

As you may or may not know, Ransom Rigg’s strange, creepy, and super cool book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is being made into a movie directed by the amazing Tim Burton for release later this year (Christmas Day to be exact). And just last week the very first trailer was released, so I thought I’d share it with you and see what you guys thought.

I’m going to try to keep my reaction as un-spoilery as possible in case you guys haven’t read the book (but if you have, let me know so we can discuss!). As for the actors cast for each of the parts, I’m mostly satisfied. I think Eva Green as Miss Peregrine is absolutely perfect (and OH MY GOSH HER TRANSITION INTO A PEREGRINE IS INCREDIBLE). Asa Butterfield as Jacob is pretty great too. As for the rest of the cast, I’m…okay with them. None of them are exactly what I pictured (especially since Riggs includes pictures in the book of each character so that’s who I pictured for each character. But I’ll deal.

For those who have read the book, you probably noticed that Emma’s and Olive’s peculiarities have been swapped. (If you haven’t read the book, in it Emma – the main female character – controls fire, while Olive is actually the one who floats). I’m assuming they did this for romantic purposes (it’s much more romantic for Jacob to be keeping Emma grounded while she floats). But the whole inclusion of Emma being able to blow the water out of the ship is somewhat weird and irritating to me. Anyone else have that reaction?

One more thing and then I’ll leave it open for discussion in the comments: HOLY CRAP THAT HOLLOWGAST THO.

Find out more about the movie on IMDB.

Tell me what you think of the trailer below. If you’ve read the book, what do you think of the changes? If you haven’t, are you excited to watch the movie? 

15 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Reaction to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Trailer

  1. I am SO EXCITED. I have such a love/hate relationship with Eva Green, mostly because she is SO DAMN GOOD at the creepy characters and it scares me. I think she’ll be an excellent Ms. Peregrine, even though she was always a little older in my mind (even though the book probably does put her at about Eva’s age). I adore everything Tim Burton does, so I’m excited to see this play out and hopefully the changes will prove to be a good thing in the end!

  2. I don’t really like the changes to the book shown in the trailer, but I want to keep an open mind. Who knows, maybe they’re for the better? But my initial reaction was: Why change their powers!?

  3. I ADORED the transformation. It was amazing.
    But the rage over Emma and Olive’s switch is burning strong. And the ship scene? NO NO NO NO. -rages-

  4. Oh wow, I didn’t know that they were making this into a movie actually. Trailer looks promising! There’s always changes that I’m never happy with, but overall I think it looks great and I trust it in the hands of Tim Burton. Thanks for sharing! – ashley

Leave a Reply

