Waiting on Wednesday: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

If I Was Your GirlPublisher: Flatiron Books

Author: Meredith Russo

Release date: May 3, 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A big-hearted novel about being seen for who you really are.

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school. Like anyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. She’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

But when she meets sweet, easygoing Grant, Amanda can’t help but start to let him in. As they spend more time together, she realizes just how much she is losing by guarding her heart. She finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself–including her past. But Amanda’s terrified that once she tells him the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.

Will the truth cost Amanda her new life–and her new love?

If I Was Your Girl is a universal story about feeling different–and a love story that everyone will root for.

Why I’m excited: I’ve never read a book about a transgender person – woman or man. And I’ve definitely never read a book about a transgender woman actually written by a transgender woman. I honestly couldn’t be more excited to do so. Reading, for me, is all about learning about people and experiences different from my own. The fact that this story is written by someone who’s actually been through this experience means that it’s going to be real and honest and powerful. Plus, when Dahlia Adler says a book is good, I take note. And thanks to Dahlia, I now have an ARC of this one waiting on my shelf. I cannot freaking wait to pick it up. (Thanks again, Dahlia!!)

8 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

  1. I picked this one as my WoW post a while back when I first heard about it. It sounds like such an amazing read! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

Leave a Reply

