Mini Review: Illuminae audiobook

Illuminae audiobook

Authors: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Narrators: Olivia Taylor Dudley, Lincoln Hoppe, and Johnathan McClain, plus a full cast of 17 more narrators

Audiobook length: 11 hours and 41 minutes

Genre: Young adult, sci-fi

Publisher: Listening Library (Knopf Books for Young Readers – book)

HOLY ****. WHY DIDN’T ANYONE TELL ME HOW FREAKING BRILLIANT THE ILLUMINAE AUDIOBOOK IS?!?! Like, I’m pretty sure that no audiobook will ever live up to it. Except maybe the GEMINA audio (that’s the sequel to ILLUMINAE). Full cast with distorted voices, PA systems, computer and digital sounds. Everything is perfect. This is hands down the most unique audiobook I’ve ever listened to. There’s a full cast of TWENTY narrators. AND there’s a bunch of cool sounds and such that pushes this audiobook to the top of my favorites list. According to Listening Library’s website, the ILLUMINAE audiobook “also features a special “sound bed“—a mix of droning sounds and effects under certain voices. It’s not just music or sound effects—it’s more like a “sound theme” that ties the audiobook together.”

Highly recommended for a reread of ILLUMINAE or your first time. Either way – you won’t be disappointed. I CANNOT wait to listen to the GEMINA audiobook!!

If you don’t believe me, check out this Storify that Listening Library put together of a bunch of tweets about the audiobook.

15 thoughts on “Mini Review: Illuminae audiobook

  1. I haven’t read this yet, but my secret sister sent me a copy and I’m pretty sure I’m going to love the unique format once I get used to it. But I was confused how this could be translated into an audiobook, now I know! Lol sounds really impressive!! R xx

  2. I’m glad to hear this audiobook was as excellent as the book is supposed to read- it’s one that would be on Audiobook list instead of read lists… but I was worried that it’s nature wouldn’t translate well to audio!

  3. I LOVED this book and bought it in hardcover, which is so visually stunning! I can only imagine what the audio could be; I think I’ll listen to a sample. I really hope the second book is as amazing or better.

Leave a Reply

