The Transatlantic Book Project [1]: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

TABookProjectgraphic

I have a really fun thing to share with you guys! Two awesome bloggers – Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense and Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek have started the Transatlantic Book Project, which is essentially a traveling book club through the US and the UK and Ireland. Alicia and Rachel each picked a book (The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender and Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, respectively) that will travel to a series of bloggers who will read and annotate the book along the way. It’s a really exciting project and allows us participants to react to the book and to each other’s reactions in a super fun way. There are more details about the project on Alicia’s blog.

The other day I got Rachel’s pick (HP) in the mail, which arrived with some sweet goodies from the book’s previous host – Lindsey @ Bring My Books – and I cannot wait to start reading. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve reread the first Harry Potter book. I’ve completely lost count. But as many times as I’ve read it and even though I pretty much have every scene memorized, I’m excited to see how the other four bloggers have reacted to the book and the notes they’ve added, which scenes were important to them and what made them happy or angry. I’ve flipped through a bit and I’m already giggling at some of the comments.

20160305_090311-01.jpeg

I’ll be reading the book over the next week or so and annotating as I go. I think I’ll post again about the experience and my reaction before I send it back to Alicia so she can send it over the ocean and to the bloggers in the UK and Ireland. I think it’ll be cool to see how my own reactions might come about in response to what the other bloggers have already said. Will we feel the same way? Will my favorite parts have already been annotated? Can’t wait to start!

6 thoughts on “The Transatlantic Book Project [1]: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. Pingback: The Transatlantic Book Project: US Round One Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

  2. Pingback: Transatlantic Book Project: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – Bring My Books

  3. I feel like I know the first Harry Potter book like the back of my hand, but seeing other people react to it is going to be something I haven’t experienced before. I’m so glad to hear you’re excited and can’t wait to take my own peek at what’s inside after this first round.

  4. Yay! I’m so pleased this project is coming together so well, we definitely picked a fab bunch of people to take part! I can’t wait to read your notes! I haven’t read HP is AGES, so when I get it back I’m excited to read it again as well as see all the comments. So much fun! R xx

Leave a Reply

