In which I explain my absence

Hey guys! I realized today that I haven’t had a post on the blog since last Wednesday, and I felt I should give you an explanation.

Before last week, I’d been sick – with what felt like allergy/sinus stuff because of the stupid Mississippi weather – so I went to the doctor on Tuesday. And she sent me to the hospital. Woohoo. UGH. She said my asthma was exacerbated and my oxygen levels were low. I won’t go into too many details but the hospital visit was horrendous (the nurse pretty much badgered me; I was on observation but they only actually checked on me TWICE IN EIGHT HOURS; I had a blood test and three hours later someone else came to do a blood test because these people don’t communicate and he had no idea I’d already had one; I could go on and on). The doctor wanted me to stay the night and get some other tests but I asked to leave and he let me (NOT against medical advice).

The next day I was home waiting for that crappy hospital to forward my blood test results over to my normal doc so she could assess what needed to be done.

Turns out I didn’t need any of those tests anyway, and in the end, I had exacerbated asthma and chronic anemia (which stems from having an autoimmune disorder like alopecia). My doc gave me a prescription for some meds and breathing treatments through a nebulizer, and I am finally getting better. I can finally BREATHE again. Normally.

I know part of this happened because I wasn’t taking care of my asthma like I should, so I’m getting better at that. I’m taking iron for the anemia (just to tell you how low my iron was – one step down from the level I was at and I would’ve needed a blood transfusion. Yikes). I’m feeling good. So even though I had a horrible hospital visit, my doctor has helped. Yay! And the meds have definitely helped.

BUT (other than tomorrow where I already have a post scheduled) I’m going to take the rest of the week off. I’ll be back on Monday with our regularly scheduled programming, everyone, but I need a few more days to continue getting better and to focus (because other than this issue I’ve also been REALLY restless and agitated because of it, but that will be getting fixed this weekend with a roadtrip to Atlanta!).

So I hope you all have a wonderful rest of your week, and I’ll see you on Monday. ❀ ❀

37 thoughts on “In which I explain my absence

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts: What I’ve Been Listening To | Caught Read Handed

  2. Glad you’re ok and feeling better!!! My mom had to have a blood transfusion due to her anemia about 2 years back. Scary stuff!!! And thanks for the reminder to start taking my iron more regularly……………….

Leave a Reply

