Thursday Thoughts: Cinder Book Club at the Library

As most of you know, I’m a Young Adult Librarian. I’ve posted about some of the programs I host and you guys always seem to enjoy when I talk more about my job. One of the things I’ve been doing is posting about the teen book clubs I do every month. Cinder by Marissa MeyerWe’ve read THE RAVEN BOYS and MOSQUITOLANDΒ and THE YOUNG ELITES (but I realized I forgot to post about that one, so I’ll do that soon). During the book club I ask my teens to describe the book and each of the main characters using only one word. It’s a lot of fun for all of us and it gets them to use their vocabulary. Plus, I think you guys like seeing these. Right?

This month we read CINDER by Marissa Meyer. I just read this series for the first time a few months ago (and finished WINTER recently), so I was really excited to talk about this book with my teens. We talked about the persecution of cyborgs, what cyborg ability they’d like to have, the morality of what Dr. Erland did, the setting, the fairy tale parallels, and more. Everyone seemed to really like/love the book, and we had a good discussion. And then we got to our one-word part. Here we go:

THE BOOK

beautiful // perfect // amazing // fascinating // favorite

CINDER

outcast // independent // relatable // sassy // b.a. // sarcastic

KAI

This was the only response – *giggles and blushes* – literally, one of my girls giggled and blushed

IKO

sassy // adorable // fierce // sweet

DR. ERLAND

wise // smart // deceptive // secretive // protective

PEONY (spoilers!!)

awwwwww // sweet // lovable // not one word, but (very seriously while also being silly): taken from this world too soon

LEVANA

ugly // psycho // controlling // manipulative // a witch

ADRI & PEARL (we grouped these together)

bleh // horrible // rude // not a fan // manipulative // cold

What do you think of my teens’ descriptions?

10 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Cinder Book Club at the Library

  1. This is such a great program. I really wish there had been more outlets like this when I was a teen. So glad that this book is resonating with so many people, I definitely really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting this little insight! – ashley

Leave a Reply

