Top Ten Tuesday: Top ten bookish resolutions for 2016

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Resolutions We Have For 2016 (can be bookish, personal resolutions, “I resolve to finally read these 10 books, series I resolve to finish in 2015, etc.)

In 2016, I want to…

  • Read at least 12 books I already own but haven’t read (TBR pile on my Rock My TBR Challenge sign up)
  • Read more backlist titles and therefore
  • Focus less on ARCs and more on me
  • Review books as I finish them – I tend to read a book but then wait until closer to when I will post the review to actually write the review. This is dumb and makes it harder to write the review, especially if I’ve read a few books in between
  • Schedule more posts – this leaves time for commenting and lessens my personal stress level when I don’t feel the need to write a post RIGHT NOW
  • Care less if I don’t/can’t/don’t want to post every day – I’ve started this already but I just want to remember that this blog is for me and if I don’t want to write a post on a particular day, I DON’T HAVE TO
  • Comment more – I know that I LOVE when I get comments and I want to support other bloggers. I want to read more blogs and tell them what I think. I want to blog hop at least twice a week, even if it’s only for 15 minutes.
  • DNF books I want to DNF – I got a lot better at this in 2015 and I want to continue this. It’s silly to continue reading a book I have no desire to keep reading and all it does it make me miserable. It’s okay to DNF.
  • Moderate another panel at the Decatur Book Festival – I’ve already been invited back, so this one is halfway to happening, but I had so much fun last year that I HAVE to go back!
  • Weed my personal book collection – I have A LOT of books, some that are packed up and some that are actually on my shelves. They need a good weeding to see which books I actually want to keep on my shelves and which can be passed on (either to friends or the library).

I have a few more goals for the year, but I’ll stop here. What are your bookish goals for 2016?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top ten bookish resolutions for 2016

  1. What are backlist titles? Most of your resolutions are my resolutions, too! Especially to DNF books I want to DNF. Sometimes, I’m really scared to DNf a book.

  2. We have a few goals that are very similar, and I haven’t been to the Decatur Book Festival in about three years. I loved it when I went and hope to go again in the future. There’s nothing else like it, and the talent that is there every year is phenomenal. Congrats on the hosting!

  3. We have a lot of similar goals! I want to read less ARCs and more backlist as well. I have been a lot better at DNFing books in 2015, but I want to do more in 2016, not because I don’t want to give books a shot, but because I read a lot of books that I don’t really enjoy last year. I could really have DNFed them and read more books that I might have enjoyed more.

  4. Learning to be okay with DNFing a book is huge! I’m good about this with my personal reading, but I need to accept it with the books I use as a teacher. Sometimes, a book that sounds great, like something the kids will LOVE, just falls flat. I need to be okay with admitting I picked a dud and switching things up.

    I’ve gotten really lax about commenting (especially on non WP blogs where I have to login to Disqus or deal with Captcha). I’m not actually sure yet if I want to improve on this generally, or just focus on a few favorites. Something to ponder.

  5. Lots of sensible goals.

    I only started scheduling post in the second half of last year, before that I was scrambling to write TTTs when I got home from work on Tuesday evenings!

    I also want to read and comment, and generally connect with people more. I go through phases, but it’s hard to keep it up.

    My TTT 🙂

    My TTT 🙂

Leave a Reply

