DNF Review: Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson

Placebo JunkiesAuthor:  J.C. Carleson

Genre: Young adult, contemporary

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 27, 2015

304 pages, hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

NOTE: I was provided with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Knopf Books for Young Readers for letting me read this!

Unfortunately, I had to DNF Placebo Junkies. After a few days of not reading it, I had no desire to pick it back up. It’s not that the book isn’t good, because the concept is super interesting, but I didn’t care about any of the characters. I don’t think pitching the book as being similar to Trainspotting was a good idea either – possibly because that’s such a classic or because it just didn’t feel like that book to me. Placebo Junkies was confusing. I do think there will be some people who like this one, but I’m just not one of them. The book felt like it tried too hard in parts, and I didn’t relate to Audie nor any of her other lab rat friends. A lot of what I read also felt really unrealistic.

The bottom line: Not for me at all, but I wouldn’t rule it out if it sounds interesting to you.

6 thoughts on “DNF Review: Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy this one. It seems to have gotten some mixed reviews so far! It did feel a bit unrealistic, I’ll agree with you on that. I thought it was pretty good, though…definitely kept me entertained by how strange it was, lol.

Leave a Reply

