Cold Weather Happiness #4: Best Friend Time

image

Every Sunday during fall and winter (hopefully), I’m going to post what I’m calling “Cold Weather Happiness” – this could be anything from a song to a quote, a picture to a post about a person, lyrics to a description of a favorite place, anything that will remind me to be happy, to fight through the cold, dark place my mind goes to sometimes and remember that it’s not always like this. Read the full description in my first post.

Best friend time

I have a hard time making best friends. In fact, until the past few years, I don’t think I ever had what I now know as a best friend. And then in the span of just 3 years or so, I found TWO. I’ll be talking about the other soon, but today I want to talk about this weirdo – my ex-boss turned best friend, Matt.

image

This post might get a little sappy, and I’d probably not say any of this to his face. And if he actually reads this, well, good. When I first started working with Matt last year, I wasn’t in a good place. But he was exactly what I needed. He made (makes) me laugh even when I don’t really want to (either because I’m sad or because he’s highly inappropriate). We have a lot in common and a lot we don’t have in common and that makes for some interesting conversations. He’s the person who got me into comics and who I now go to the comic book store with every single month. He protects me and would fight anyone for me. We’re both a little messed up, but that’s why we work so well, I think. He lets me talk about all my bookish shenanigans and even though he has no idea who or what I’m talking about, he still listens. And even though I no longer work with him, we still make time to hang out – like last night, when he drove the 35 minutes to my house so we could watch The Walking Dead together. I’m just really glad I have him in my life.

11 thoughts on “Cold Weather Happiness #4: Best Friend Time

Leave a Reply

