Thursday Thoughts: October Uppercase Box Subscription Review

It feels like, these days, there is a subscription service to literally everything you could think of – from healthy snacks to nail polish to make up to (my personal favorite) books. I’ve been really curious about all of these subscriptions that have been popping up. One such box is Uppercase,Uppercase-logo founded by Lisa Parkin, the blogger at Read. Breathe. Relax., and it has a particular focus on YA titles, which is a selling point for me. Every month, Lisa handpicks a title that she has personally read and love, along with a few other bookish goodies. NOTE: I did not pay for this box but received one from Uppercase Box in exchange for an honest review.

WHAT I GOT:

October Uppercase Box     October Uppercase Box

I won’t lie, I thought it was kind of funny that it’s called an Uppercase “box” and it actually comes in a simple USPS mailing envelope. But I thought the cute canvas bag that all the items come in was adorable, and I’ll definitely be saving it.

Also funny is that I actually have this mint tin. I got it at a little shop in Edinburgh, Scotland when I was living there. I use it as my pill case in my purse (for aspirin and such; NOT a druggie). So even though I owned it already, I was actually excited to get a new one – the old one is about four years old and is pretty banged up.

October Uppercase Box     October Uppercase Box

LOOK HOW CUTE THIS COIN PURSE IS! I have no idea what I’m going to use it for yet, but I absolutely adore it. I have a Cheshire cat tattoo, so I love that it has the “We’re all mad here” quote on it.

October Uppercase Box   October Uppercase Box   October Uppercase Box

I’m reading the Lunar Chronicles series right now, so these tattoos were super fun. I’m not sure when I’ll be able to use them, but I might be able to fit them into a teen program at the library. 🙂

I LOVE that the box comes with a handwritten note that describes the book and why Lisa chose it. Makes the box feel really personal, as do the post-it notes, which are included throughout the book. You can go to the website and enter in a little code found on the post-it notes that will reveal exclusive content and a way to interact with other readers. How freaking cool is that?

Every book that you get through the Book Exclusive plan will either be signed or come with a signed bookplate. I don’t know about you guys, but I love signed books!

October Uppercase Box

Alright, let’s talk about this subscription box.

WHAT I LIKE:

  • THE OPTIONS – There are three different subscriptions you can choose from through Uppercase: Book Exclusive (a book – signed/signed book plate – and exclusive book content and publisher-provided goodies; $17/month); Expert Plan (everything in the Book Exclusive plan, but with bookish items that are exclusive to that subscription ($23/month); Personalized Plan (personalized book choice based on your reading preferences, checked against your read shelf on GR, not signed; $29/month). I think this is really great because it gives you options and price choices.
  • THE READING EXPERIENCE – The codes on the post-it notes that are included throughout the book can be entered online to receive exclusive content (like videos from the author or additional backstories) and allow you to interact with other Uppercase readers. I entered a couple in just to see what there was and saw a video from the author and a few questions for readers to answer and discuss with each other. This is super cool.
  • THE SIGNED BOOKS – Like I said earlier, each book is either signed or comes with a signed book plate. So so cool.

WHAT I’M IFFY ON:

  • THE GAMBLE – As a book blogger, I stay pretty up to date with new releases and (though I don’t buy new releases all the time) I could possibly get a book that I’ve already read (through an ARC) or bought. Uppercase recommends not pre-ordering or buying that month’s new releases until you receive your box. That would work for me personally most of the time, but I can see other people who would struggle with this.
  • THE PRICE – Alright, I’m actually okay with the Book Exclusive plan ($17/month) because not only do you get a book, which is priced in that range by itself, but it’s signed and you get several other items. However, if I subscribed, I’d probably want either the Expert or Personalized plan, and that could get a bit pricey some months.
  • THE RETURN POLICY – At this time, you cannot return an Uppercase box for a refund. I understand this completely because it would get super crazy for them, and while I don’t personally have an issue with it, it’s something to be aware of.

Would I actually subscribe to the Uppercase Box? I’m not sure. I really did love the box, and I’m super excited to read the book and interact with the other readers. However, I’d probably prefer to get the Personalized plan, and $29/month is not always doable. I think the thing that makes me the most unsure is the gamble. I looked back through Uppercase’s past boxes, and there were a few books that I either had an ARC for or already owned (like I bought the book the day it came out because I couldn’t wait). I’m not sure I could justify paying that much money to get a book I already owned. On the other hand, I love the idea of surprise bookish mail handpicked by someone who really knows what they are talking about. I’ve got to think on this one.

Find out more on Uppercase’s Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Do you have a subscription to any monthly boxes?

12 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: October Uppercase Box Subscription Review

  1. Pingback: I Graduated!!! Weekly Wrap Up #8 | I read books.

  2. I have heard so many great things about Uppercase and I honestly would love to get a box. THEY SEEM SO FUN! and cool. Oh! And I do love getting surprises 😀 I have heard of First and Then but have really been meaning to get to it. Great review and I hope you enjoy your goodies 😀

    ~Kaitlin

  3. I love seeing reviews of subscription boxes 🙂 Uppercase seems like a lot of fun but I feel like for me the cost isn’t justifiable since past boxes indicate that most of the titles are ones I have read before OR even already own. I didn’t realize somehow that these books were signed or had bookplates though–that’s a really nice touch.

  4. I’ve recently started looking into the whole subscription box thing. I’ll be getting my first OwlCrate box in the mail today and I ordered the November Book(ish) Box. I think the hardest part of these boxes is the risk that A) you already have the book if a book is included in the box and B) you don’t end up liking the other things that are inside. I’ll be really interested to see if I like what’s inside of these two boxes I got.
    Does Uppercase have themed boxes or is everything randomly put together?

  5. I’m so tempted by boxes—they just seem like so much fun!—but I’m with you on being hesitant about the gamble. Why spend money (even if it’s a perfectly reasonable amount) to get a box of things you may only like/may already own when you could spend less/the same/even more money to get things you *know* you will love? So hard!

    Maybe if I had just a wee bit more disposable income, I’d treat myself. Perhaps one day. 🙂 Thanks for sharing you review—Lisa seemed to do a stellar job here!

Leave a Reply

