Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to/Have Quit

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit (aka ten book series I think I’m going to abandon, ten bookish habits I want to quit, ten authors I quit reading, ten types of books I’m quitting, ten tropes I want to stop reading about, ten books I marked as DNF (did not finish) recently, etc. Get as creative as you want)

Instead of focusing on ONE particular topic and list ten things under that, I’m just going to give you ten bookish things I want to/have quit.

  • I want to quit stressing about reading. I don’t do this all the time, but every once in a while I feel like I HAVE to read, and I don’t like that feeling. I read because I need to, because I enjoy it, not because it’s a chore. I hate when I feel like that.
  • I have quit focusing on how many books I read per month/year. I still challenge myself on Goodreads (and I’ve already surpassed by goal) but not because I feel I need to read that many books. I just do it for fun. If I read 5 books last month and 15 this month, it doesn’t matter. It helps cut down on the stress.
  • I want to quit comparing myself to other bloggers. I know bloggers talk about this a lot – her post has more comments than mine, he has more followers than me, blah blah blah. It’s silly and makes no sense to do this; we have different blogs, focuses, etc. but we still do it. I don’t like doing it, but I do. I want to stop.
  • I have recently quit reading Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. I wanted to like it so much more than I did, but I just couldn’t force myself through it.
  • I want to quit reading about instalove. For real. I will admit, it is occasionally done well, but most of the time it gets on my nerves.
  • I want to quit reading books with absent families/parents. If it actually makes sense in the story, go for it, but if it’s the only way an author can think of to have the teen be left alone, it comes off as lazy and repetitive. Not all parents are absent, and I particularly love YA books with families/parents that are involved and supportive. That’s how my family is.
  • I have quit (a long time ago) caring about what people thought about what I read. I read a wide range of books (from YA to picture books, contemporary to high fantasy) and I couldn’t care less about what people think if they see me reading it. All that really matters is that I enjoy it, and if I don’t, I DNF.
  • I want to quit feeling guilty about DNF-ing books. I’ve gotten a lot better at this in the last year or so, but I still find it difficult to DNF a book, especially if it’s an ARC. It’s a problem, and I’m working on it.
  • I want to quit reading about heroines who are ridiculously self-conscious/have no self-esteem but are – gasp! – really beautiful. I don’t get why almost every female lead can’t actually have confidence in herself but must constantly judge herself (or other people). I know people, particularly teenage girls, question themselves a lot (trust me, I have no hair, I feel this daily) but to constantly read about girls who think they are too plain/ugly for the love interest to like her despite the fact that she’s gorgeous is getting old.
  • I DON’T want to quit doing Top Ten Tuesday posts. I always have fun with these and seeing everyone else’s lists!

What bookish things do you want to quit?

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Things I Want to/Have Quit

  1. I loved reading this list because it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who feels guilty/anxious about not reading! And especially about not finishing ARCs – gah, the worst! Makes me feel like an undeserving blogger! But sometimes you get the BURN OUT and there’s nothing for it but to take a break. And yes – down with all these heroines who are so down on themselves but somehow manage to snag hotties!
    My TTT

  2. I focus way too much on how many books I read. I don’t usually compare myself to other readers, but I’m super competitive with myself. Every year I feel compelled to read more than I did the year before, and at some point that’s just not reasonable. I forget to actually ENJOY what I’m reading. It’s something I’m still working on. DNF’ing, though, I have come to love. It’s so satisfying. 😀

    Great post, Stefanie! I completely agree with you about instalove, absent families, and “beautiful” girls who think they’re plain.

  3. I want to stop comparing myself to other bloggers and feeling guilty when I DNF, especially if it’s an ARC. Now that I know I can DNF and still post to NetGalley and get credit it doesn’t bother me as much. I haven’t Ben doing TTT as regularly and I’d like to get back to it, but some of the topics have seemed repetitive or don’t applying me. I’ve got one for next week, though.

  4. Ah! I love your list. It seems like you’ve got a really level-headed approach to reading/blogging. I want to quit a lot of these things too (not DNFing, crap tropes, worrying about how many books I’m reading, etc.) but it’s so hard sometimes. It’s worth a shot though!

  5. The parents & families things is so true – I guess having a stable, loving home isn’t exciting enough? I can handle an orphaned character better than one who’s parents are just absent and/or clueless.
    The overly self-conscious heroine is annoying too. It’s been awhile, but I remember being a self-conscious teenager and it was just never that dramatic.

  6. Great post! 🙂

    I know exactly how you feel about sometimes feeling like reading is a chore. There will be times that I feel like that as well and I feel guilty if I’m not reading. Sometimes I just don’t want to read though and it sucks when I feel guilty about not reading and try to force it. I tend to end up just not enjoying the books I am reading if I force myself to. That’s what happened to me in August. I just got so burned out and forced myself that almost everything I read was just “blehhh” to me.

    Insta-love, I am seriously so over insta-love. sigh. That and love triangles annoying me the most, especially if the love triangle is done badly.

  7. We have a lot of things in common here! haha – the first two especially. I always feel like I NEED to be reading instead of doing other things, but making reading a chore is never a good idea. I also focus waaaay too much on numbers: how many books I’ve read in a week, how my Goodreads challenge is coming, etc. It’s so stupid but I stress about this stuff that really doesn’t affect my life at all.

    • Agreed. I think, for me, it stems from the fact that I am an anxious person anyway, so if I’m not doing something – no matter what it is – I feel anxious when I’m not doing it. It’s the strangest thing. And completely unexplainable.

Leave a Reply

