Top Ten Tuesday: Retellings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read (or you could do fairytales I want to be retold or fairytales I love)

Like most of us, I’ve read my fair share of fairy tale and myth retellings (just this year I’ve read Cinder, A Court of Thorns and Roses, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, The Wrath and the Dawn, The Darkest Part of the Forest, and Valiant – I’m probably forgetting some), and I loved them. But there are SO many out there I still want to read, so I’m just going to focus on retellings I WANT TO READ – ones that are already published and ones that are yet to be released. These are actually a mix of fairy tale, myth, and comic retellings. 🙂 *All covers linked to Goodreads*

ALREADY RELEASED

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson     Scarlet by Marissa Meyer     Splintered by A.G. Howard     Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

 The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler     The Artisans by Julie Reece

NOT YET RELEASED

Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl     The Stars Turned Away by Lisa Maxwell     Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman     A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

What are your favorite retellings? Which ones are you looking forward to?

49 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Retellings

  1. I want to read Princess of Thorns, Tiger Lily, and Blackhearts too! I can’t resist a good retelling. I’m in the middle of Black Widow right now and so far it’s pretty good! I feel like I’m watching a Marvel movie, which is what I wanted 🙂

    Let’s see, I love Ella Enchanted, ACOTAR, the Lunar Chronicles, Stitching Snow, A Curse Dark as Gold, Entwined, The Sweetest Spell, Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel, For Darkness Shows the Stars, Rook, Every Breath, Cruel Beauty, Scarlet, and a whole bunch more I’m sure! Looking forward to: Valiant, The Wrath and the Dawn, The Forbidden Wish, Tell the Wind and Fire, While Beauty Slept, Longbourne, Mechanica, Ash & Bramble, A Thousand Nights, Heartless, and A Wicked Thing. Can you tell that I love retellings of all kinds 😉 Hehe. Happy reading!!

    • AH! That’s awesome that it feels like a Marvel movie! That’s exactly what I was hoping for!
      So many books on your list! Haha. And some I haven’t heard of that I will have to look up! Thanks for stopping by, Morgan!

  2. YESS to so many of these! I loved Tiger Lily and it is such a beautiful book. I want to read Splintered too. A Study in Charlotte is one of my top reads for next year, plus the cover is so pretty. And being a huge Marvel fan, I think Forever Red has some high expectations. But at least we’re getting a Black Widow book – although a movie would be amazing 🙂

  3. Great list!
    Tiger Lily was beautiful. A bit dark, but still really lovely.
    I couldn’t finish the Lunar Chronicles series, just couldn’t get into it.
    Splintered has been on my TBR for a while maybe its time to pull it off of the shelf!
    I will be reading Cruel Beauty in the next week or so, I have heard that it is a great retelling! 🙂

  4. The only retelling I’ve read is ACOTAR, which I enjoyed. I have been saying all morning that I need to read Cinder. Like right now. It’s getting a ton of praise, and I’m clearly missing out!

  5. You’ve got a great list! I just recently started getting into retellings and I loved ACOTAR. I don’t know if you’ve read them yet, but you should check out Cruel Beauty (Beauty and the Beast) and Crimson Bound (Red Rising Hood). I will definitely be checking some of these out because they sound amazing!

  6. Wow! You’ve got some great ones! And some I have never seen so I’m definitely adding a bunch more to my TBR. I got a chapter sampler of the Black Widow and I’m really looking forward to reading it!

  7. Great picks and so many of these I haven’t heard! I definitely plan to check them out. 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read Tiger Lily, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, and Splintered.

Leave a Reply

