DNF ARC Review: Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond

Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen EmondAuthor:  Stephen Emond
Genre: Young adult, contemporary
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: August 11, 2015
384 pages, hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

NOTE: I was provided with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Roaring Brook Press for letting me read this!

I wanted to like this one. I really, really did. A diverse love story with super cool black and white illustrations throughout? Doesn’t that sound like a perfect book for me? I thought so too.

Walter’s never been in love, until he meets the little sister of one of his best friends and the two hit it off instantly. When Walter’s dad is caught in a race scandal at work, the two of them start getting called out at school for their relationship. Will love prevail?

I loved Walter and Naomi’s banter; they were absolutely adorable. But I found myself getting a little bored of the story. I told myself to keep going, it’d get better. When it didn’t, I put Bright Lights, Dark Nights on hold for a couple of days to read something else. When I finished that, I thought about going back to BLDN, and I honestly just didn’t care enough about the characters to want to. I’m not really sure what it is that I didn’t like. I liked the two main characters and the illustrations, but I just didn’t care about the story. I think it might’ve been because it was set from Walter’s perspective only. This is one of those cases where I think the story could’ve done with more than one perspective – maybe from Naomi’s?

I DO think people will like this one. The theme in BLDN is really relevant right now. The two main characters are interesting, funny, and super adorable. This is one of those books that I can definitely see myself trying again in the future. I’d be interested to see how the story played out.

The bottom line: Interesting concept, maybe not so great execution. I was a little bored and not invested enough to want to continue. But you should give it a shot if you like diverse contemporaries that are relevant to the current issues in our society.

Rating: No rating for a DNF.

4 thoughts on “DNF ARC Review: Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond

    • Thank you. I always find it hard to DNF review books – let me just switch up two of your words. Lol. I’m usually able to identify the things I didn’t like about a book, but it is hard to put it in words.

  1. Great DNF review. It’s so easy to bash and hate on boring stories but you did it right. I saw this one on Netgalley but was turned off by the cover art(?). Not sure why, but whatever. Someone out there will love this book

Leave a Reply

