Top Ten Tuesday: (6) Bookish Characters

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds (love reading, are writers, work at a bookstore, etc.)

I couldn’t come up with a list of ten bookish characters, so instead, I have a list of six characters and a quote that describes their bookishness.

Throne of Glass The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky The Book Thief by Markus Zusak Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Matilda by Roald Dahl The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Celaena Sardothien, Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

Charlie, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.”

Liesel, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

“When she came to write her story, she would wonder when the books and the words started to mean not just something, but everything.”

Hermione Granger, Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

“I’ve learned all of our course books by heart, of course, I just hope it will be enough – I’m Hermione Granger, by the way, who are you?”

Matilda, Matilda by Roald Dahl

“These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

Skeeter, The Help by Kathryn Stockett

“I always order the banned books from a black market dealer in California, figuring if the State of Mississippi banned them, they must be good.”

Who are your favorite bookish characters?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (6) Bookish Characters

  1. We quoted the same lines both from TPOBAW and Matilda! And I would’ve picked Hermoine too, I almost did, but alas, I haven’t read the HP books. LE SIGH. The rest of the quotations are on point!

  2. The Help is one of my favorite books, so I had to list it, too. The audio is one of the best audios I’ve ever listened to.

  3. I had some problems with this TTT topic too, but I like the twist you took on it. My first thought when I saw this tag was Calaena, even though I didn’t finish Throne of Glass. I had Skeeter and Liesel on my list too!

  4. Great list here and some of my favs, for sure. Woohoo, for our list matching some. I cannot believe how many I forgot though that I love and didn’t include! And others that I couldn’t really figure out a way to include because Blogger was being a brat for me last night.

    My Top Ten List ~ Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

