Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Celebrate Diversity

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters (example: features minority/religious minority, socioeconomic diversity, disabled MC,  neurotypical character, LGBTQ etc etc.)

I LOVE diverse books! I love people, full stop, and I’ve always loved getting to learn about people who were different from me. It keeps my mind open and my heart full. As such, this list is way over ten books. There was no way I could keep it at ten. However, I did try to keep it relatively short (It’s 15 books!) and all relatively recent releases.

Books with LGBTQIA+ themes:

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera I'll Give You the Sun George by Alex Gino Everything Leads to You

Books about mental illnesses:

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia   Paperweight by Meg Haston   Where the Moon Isn't   Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day

Books with religious themes:

Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu    The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Books with POC characters:

Ms. Marvel, volume 1   The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh   Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Here are some books that celebrate diversity that I can’t wait to read:

Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz
Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older
The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds
The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

I could’ve gone on for days but I’ll stop there. I’m always open to book suggestions. Is there a diverse book you think I should read? Let me know!

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books that Celebrate Diversity

  1. Great list, love how you divided it up. Most are on my TBR can’t wait to get to them. If you haven’t read After by Amy Efaw I recommend it. Many probably wouldn’t find it diverse but I think it is because it shows the legal system from the eyes of a terrified teenager who clearly is in shock.

  2. Stef! You should pick up Fans really soon! You wouldn’t be disappointed! So, okay. Not only do I love the books I’ve already read that are in your list, there are also titles here that I’m srsly excited to read (I’ll Give You the Sun, Made You Up, Where the Moon isn’t and Ms. Marvel). HOORAY FOR DIVERSITY!

  3. When I saw what the TTT topic was this week, your blog was the first thing I thought of. I remember you saying how much you loved Diverse Contemporaries. Of these, I’ve only read Cinder, but I have The Wrath & the Dawn and None of the Above on my TBR

  4. I’ve seen Cinder on another list and had no idea it featured diversity. I have Made You Up on my Kindle to read whenever I start reading my backlist. You’ve listed several on my TBR.

Leave a Reply

