Top Ten Tuesday: Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession (bought, library, review copies)

In no particular order, mostly because I can’t remember in which order I got these. All titles linked to Goodreads.

Court of Fives by Kate Elliott     Hunter by Mercedes Lackey     The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner     The Darkest Minds by Alexandrra Bracken     Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat

Court of Fives by Kate Elliott – from publisher, thanks again The Novl!
Hunter by Mercedes Lackey – from Emma because she’s awesome
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner– from the author; follow him on Twitter! His book publishes next year!
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken – from Kelly for a trade
Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat – from the library

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan     Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins     Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical Creatures     Tales from the Arabian Nights translated by Sir Richard Francis Burton     Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – from Jo who got the book signed for me and mailed it across the ocean!
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – from OTSP Secret Sister, Mariah, signed by the author. It says, “Cricket is yours.” !!!!!!
Pip Barlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures – from Xander for a trade
Tales from the Arabian Nights translated by Sir Richard Francis Burton – bought, recommended by Renee Ahdieh
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – from April just because she’s super kind

If you couldn’t tell, I’m trying not to buy books for a while, but I still keep getting amazing books from author people. Oops. Thank you again to all of the wonderful people who’ve either sent me books just because or because I’ve traded with you. You are all awesome.

48 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

  1. I need to get to Everything Everything soon, heard really good things about it and apparently the way it’s laid out is quite unique – hopefully that translates well in an eARC… What is this Court of Fives I’ve been seeing around the place? It looks good, though I’m so tired of the “court” theme in book titles. Grace Keepers is one I was so-so about, but been hearing great things, and I watched this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lw6xJc1lYbM and I think I’ve fallen for the author, if not for the book. R x

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.com/2015/07/14/top-ten-tuesday-books-thatve-recently-hit-my-shelves/

    • Court of Fives is a YA fantasy set in an Ancient-Greece-like world full of magic and charming princes and the Fives, which are a physical competition with mazes and such. I finished it today and it was really cool. Isn’t Kirsty just LOVELY? I met her a few times while I was living in Scotland – she was involved with several of the things I participated in and knew the same people I did. She’s wonderful and The Gracekeepers is SO GOOD.

      • Ohhhh – that sounds good! It’s like Throne of Glass, meets The Hunger Games, meets Greek mythology??

        Have you read The Gracekeepers already?? That’s another one for the list then R x

        • Really? I actually prefer the UK cover! I ordered it and had it sent to my friend who lives in the Borders – she got it signed for me and sent it over. I love the bear and North on the UK cover. I do think the US cover is pretty but I prefer the UK one. We never seem to agree on covers! Lol.

          • LOL different strokes for different folks! You definitely have a thing for more “artsy” illustrated covers, and I so get that, and WANT to be one of those people who loves them, but I seem to have a thing for covers that… bring out an emotion? Sounds weird I know, but run with me – the US cover has water – mum called me a water baby because I wouldn’t stay away from it, and even now it has a calming effect on me, I love covers with water. That, and it kind of feels nostalgic and dream like, I could just stare at that cover. R x

  2. Between the Notes and Everything Everything are two I’ve had my eye on. I’ve heard that Lola and the Boy Next Door is good, too. Enjoy!

  3. Tales from the Arabian Nights looks good – I try to include fairy tales / folk tales / legends with history when I teach my kids. So much of folk lore is tied closely with the history of various cultures. Ooh, now I know what to write about for the upcoming “what I’d put on my syllabus” TTT. 😀

    • I’m really looking forward to Everything Everything.
      I KNOW! Lola is by far my favorite of the three books and Cricket is my ultimate book boyfriend. I fangirl over him all the time, so I was so excited by that!

  4. I am super excited about the majority of these books on your list! 🙂
    Especially Hunter and The Serpent King!
    I added Court of Fives to my TBR this morning.

  5. I’m so jealous about Everything Everything! I hope it’s amazing! That’s awesome about the signed Lola!!

    Curious what you’ll think of Between the Notes – it sounds good. 🙂

    Great book haul!!

  6. Great list! I want to get my hands on so many of these but I’m trying not to buy too many books at the moment hahah

Leave a Reply

