Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

First, it’s my birthday! Yay! Unfortunately, I have to work until 8 p.m., but we had yesterday off, so that was nice!

The sad thing about my TTT post this week is that I actually own almost ALL of the books on it, I just haven’t been able to read them yet. I WILL get to them soon!

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin     Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor     Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell     Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo     Legend by Marie Lu

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – own first two books in series
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – own first two books in series
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I own the pretty pink special edition because of my wonderful Secret Sister
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo – owned and signed, but will read this month for Blogger Book Club!
Legend by Marie Lu – own and I loved The Young Elites so I really should read it soon

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy     The Distance Between Us by Kasie West     Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi     Cinder by Marissa Meyer     Matched by Ally Condie

The Summer I’ve Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han – own the whole trilogy as a single book
The Distance Between Us by Kasie West – own
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – own and really want to read
The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – do not own but have Cinder checked out as an audiobook
Matched by Ally Condie – do not own but every single one of my teen volunteers at the library is trying to convince me to read these books

Have you read any of these books? Which hyped books have you not read?

62 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. Oh my goodness, it’s vitally imperative that you read FANGIRL + SHATTER ME as soon as possible. They’re two of my favourite books in the universe (and lucky you – I’ve been drooling over the special edition of the former for far too long! 😉 ). I promise you won’t be disappointed – they’re absolutely gorgeous, if quite different, books. x

  2. Woohoo! Happy birthday, Stef! *Shoots Oreo canon.* So, you know we both have Cinder but GO READ FANGIRL! And the Grisha books too! Book 1 is sort of slow but I promise you Book 2 will reward you massively! Plus, the world-building and characterization are just magnificent!

  3. Happy birthday, Stef! You deserve a yolo splurge on something and lots of celebratory drinks and food. Especially food.

    I remember when Mara Dyer was incredibly hyped last year with re-reads and everything for the final installment. I think that was the pinnacle of my need to read it (not so much anymore though).

    I’ve read The Distance Between Us on a whim and I’m definitely in the majority that didn’t really enjoy it. It was a cute read though, I guess?

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • Hahahaha. I don’t really splurge on anything, but I was surprised with an awesome cake at the library yesterday and I definitely ate too much.
      Yeah. I’m not sure about the Mara Dyer books. I want to read them but I don’t? Eventually I will.

  4. Happy Birthday!!! May there be lots of bookish birthday awesomeness for you!

    As to the books, I’m typically not a YA reader, but I won’t lie – some of the hype for these books, in particular Mara Dyer and the Grisha books have me extremely curious. Hope you enjoy them all as you get to them! =]

  5. Happy Birthday, Stefani!

    Fangirl is the only book on your list which I’ve read. I found some parts tedious, but probably wouldn’t have if I were several decades younger, lol. All in all, it was a good read. I enjoyed Rowell’s writing style.

    If I had made a list last week, it would have included a book that I was desperate to get to and finally did a couple of days ago: The Magic Circus. I did a Tuesday Teaser for it at http://wp.me/pZnGI-o1

  6. I have a few of these on my list as well.
    I own all of the Matched books, but I’m not sure I’m going to ever read them or not anytime soon. I honestly bought them because they were all at Goodwill and I couldn’t pass up getting them all three for $9!

  7. Great list! I enjoyed Cinder, I have the next two in the series as ebooks but just haven’t gotten to them yet. Fangirl and Daughter of Smoke & Bone are on my TBR as well. Too many books, too little time! 🙂

  8. I love Cinder, Shadow And Bone and Fangirl! Most of the other titles are on my TBR as well… Like you, I already own copies of most of them, but somehow I’ve never managed to start reading them so far.

  9. I’ve seen you mention to some other people that you’re planning on listening to the Cinder audiobook today – enjoy! It’s one of my favorite books. As for the other books on your list, I haven’t read many of them (although I also own most of them) but The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is such a great story (though incredibly creepy). Fangirl is also a super fan, cute read that I would highly recommend. 🙂

  10. Cinder and Shadow & Bone are in my TBR list, Cinder is not even my cup of tea but all the positive reviews & blog posts convinced me to give it a shot anyway 🙂

  11. First off, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you have a fantastic day and are spoiled by all your loved ones!
    Second of all, pretty much all these books are ones I need to read ASAP. Fangirl is amazing, and I really hope you read it soon! xoxo

  12. Quite a few of these could have been on my list. I have read and loved Fangirl, though. I’d highly recommend picking that up sometime soon. I was pretty underwhelmed by Matched. I ended up giving my copy to my sister, but she loved it and went and bought the rest of the series, so maybe it’s matter of taste.

  13. Legend made mine as well and I forgot to add Fangirl! I own it just haven’t read it yet either. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is amazing!!! I binge read the series over Thanksgiving last year. Definitely need to read it ASAP! Cinder is good, Scarlet is better, and Cress fell flat for me. Hoping Winter is great! And yes listen to your teen volunteers! Read Matched 😀 It’s one of my favorites!!! Great list! You reminded me of several I’ve forgotten

  14. Great list! As you know, Fangirl also made my list. I’ve been hearing a lot about Legend and might have to give it a try. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer also sounded interesting when I looked at it recently. I’ll have to look into these other reads.

  15. The only one of these I’ve read is Cinder. It was okay. I hated the second book in the series, Scarlet. :/ There were several instances, in both books, of the author simply using the wrong word. She said someone’s lips perched. All I could picture was a pair of lips sitting in a tree. SMH.

  16. I’ve read quite a few of these and I think you’ll love them! Hope you get to read a couple soon. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone was amazing, as were The Lunar Chronicles!

Leave a Reply

