Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books I’d Love To See As Movies/Tv Shows

The Humans by Matt Haig – I’ve seen Matt tweet and post about writing the script for this and I need it to happen. YESTERDAY.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon – I saw this as a play in the West End in London and it was INCREDIBLE. If the movie was even HALF as amazing as that play was, it would be so. freaking. cool.

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller – this would make a seriously creepy, thriller. If done right, you’d never know which one was the killer and it would be super freaky.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith – okay, I’m kind of cheating with this one because it actually IS going to be a movie, but I’m just excited for it. They’ve cast Robert Sheehan as Oliver, the love interest, and I’m pretty happy with that. This is going to be a wonderful rom-com.

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley – I would love to see Magonia brought to life on the screen. It would be a bit Wizard of Oz-ish with how the book goes from not-fantasy-at-all to an amazing world in the sky. Yeah, actually, can this please be a thing?

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber – reading this book was almost like watching a movie anyway. I could picture the whole planet perfectly, from the base the humans lived in to the faces of the natives to the church they built. If the people who made Avatar could make this one too, that’d be great.

The Anna and the French Kiss books by Stephanie Perkins – adorable contemporary books to adorable rom-coms? Yes, please!

Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman – this book could be made into the most fun and silly and adorable animated film!

The Radleys by Matt Haig – yeah, yeah, I’ve got two Matt Haig books on this list. Get over it. I love his books. The Radleys is vampires like you’ve never seen before and this could be a seriously fun movie.

The Dark Tower series by Stephen King – this is the only book on the list that I could see as a TV show. I could see this go on and on for seasons. There is way too much material here for movies, but it could be absolutely brilliant as a TV show, maybe on HBO or AMC (I mean, they have the Walking Dead!)

What books would you like to see made into movies or TV shows?

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to See as Movies/TV Shows

  1. I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned. Oops. But from what I’ve been seeing in the internet, I can see how the Stephanie Perkins books would translate into fun rom coms. And can someone make films out of Simon vs and Winger? But like from a team of only the finest? And a TV series of the Percy Jackson books.

    • I ALMOST put Simon Vs. on my list but then I was trying to figure out how it would work with the emails. Voice overs can get annoying. I would LOVE it if someone could figure it out though. Oooo! A TV series of the Percy Jackson books would be awesome!

  2. I completely agree with the Perkins books into wonderful rom-coms! I’m really surprised no one has picked this up yet??? But the book I really want to see is MAGONIA. Wow. Can you just imagine how beautiful it would look like in the big screen? It can be like some sort of YA Avatar.

  3. I had heard about the stage version of The Curious Case of the Dog and hoped it would play in the U.S. I don’t think it would be commercially successful for a movie studio unless they emphasized the strangeness, changing the book too much for my taste. These days if something isn’t blowing up or designed for 6 year olds it doesn’t seem to get made or a wide release, which is too bad.

    • I think Curious Incident would work really well as an indie movie – if it was made as a movie to show at film festivals and such. Do you know what I mean? If an indie studio picked it up and not one of the major studios, it could be done REALLY well. I’ve seen a lot of really great, really weird indie movies. The stage version was INCREDIBLE.

  4. Now that you mentioned it, I wonder why Anna has been made into a movie yet. Theyre even doing The Selection. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

