ARC Review: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

I read this book is two days. It’s ridiculously fast-paced, well-written, thrilling, and pretty swoony.

The Devil You Know by Trish DollerAuthor:  Trish Doller
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, thriller
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: June 2, 2015
256 pages, hardcover

Check out the full synopsis on Goodreads.

NOTE: I was provided with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Bloomsbury USA Childrens for letting me read this!

Cadie is tired. Tired of her life, and tired of taking care of her depressed father and acting as mother to her four-year-old brother. She has dreams of adventure and travel, but she is constantly forced to put those aside to take care of her family. So when the opportunity presents itself to join two ridiculously attractive cousins on a road-trip down to the tip of Florida, she says yes. It’s impulsive and spontaneous and yeah, pretty stupid, but it never felt like something a teenage girl wouldn’t do.

I loved Cadie. She was strong, brave, smart, and independent. She took charge of her life and her body and it was AWESOME reading about a woman like that. Cadie takes ownership of herself and it was both refreshing and empowering. Those are the types of things teenage girls need to be reading about. Not once did Cadie’s independence feel cheap or out of character. Doller flawlessly weaves all of these things into Cadie’s character. And even when Cadie was making seriously STUPID decisions, I still liked her character.

The romance was…tangible. Both of the cousins are swoon-worthy, but the romance between Cadie and the main love interest was very convincing. Their chemistry was easy to see and their conversations and scenes together were really well-done. Really, really great chemistry here. The Devil You Know is a thriller though, which means there’s several twists and the creep factor is turned up to eleven. I won’t say I was all that shocked by the ending, mostly because it uses a few main thriller tropes, but it was still clever and smart.

The bottom line: The Devil You Know is a fast-paced, exciting thriller with tons of suuuuuperrrr great chemistry between Cadie and her main love interest. A tad predictable but so well-done and entertaining that I didn’t really mind. It’s got a girl and sex-positive message that I wish I could broadcast to girls everywhere. I definitely plan on reading more Trish Doller.

Rating: 7.5 – between pretty good and freaking fantastic

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Devil You Know by Trish Doller

  1. Yes! I couldn’t agree more! I’m suffering from some thriller fatigue but this one really grows in my estimation the more I think about it. Totally agree about the chemistry! I still feel silly for saying this book sizzled but there was no other way for my to convey the level of attraction 😛

Leave a Reply

