Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will PROBABLY Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

Emphasis on probably. Who knows what I will eventually want to read in the future? This is a list of ten books that I’ve avoided reading for several years (probably more) and that I don’t see myself reading anytime in the future. Several of them are books I know I wouldn’t enjoy; I don’t know why I’d waste time on something I don’t like when I could be reading my next favorite book.

Fifty Shades of Grey (or any of the other books) by E.L. James – I have nothing against you if you have read and/or like this books, but I know they aren’t for me, for reasons I’d be happy to discuss with you, but I won’t go into here.

Anything by Nicholas Sparks – Formulaic and trite. His books hold no interest to me.

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – I started this one as an audiobook (horrible decision as Gilbert herself narrates it and her voice grated on my nerves) and I got through about a third of it and then DNF’ed. I’ll never finish this one.

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – I tried and couldn’t do it. I’ve seen the movie though.

Ellen Hopkins’ books – I am not really a fan of books written in verse. I find it hard to connect with the story, but so many people love Ellen Hopkins’ books that this is one of the ones I might eventually read in the future. I don’t know.

A Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin – This is another that I’m not sure if I will or won’t read. I’ve heard really great things but this series is daunting – so many books, so many characters, so much hype.

And a few classics I don’t plan on reading:

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – maybe one day

War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, anything by Jane Austen – don’t hate me!

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Do you think I should change my mind about any of these? Which books will you (probably) never read?

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will PROBABLY Never Read

  1. I think 50 Shades made a lot of lists this week (including mine!) and I totally don’t blame you. I don’t blame you about A Song of Ice and Fire either—I only got into it myself because my husband read the first book on our honeymoon, and I made him tell me the whole story. I felt like I was missing out on this huge cultural phenomenon, but was just too lazy to read it myself after trying and failing once or twice. It was a LOT easier to follow when I knew what was going to happen 😉 I wouldn’t recommend them on audio, though, just because they are kind of hard to follow.

  2. We should have a 50 chat!
    I’ve never really read any Sparks I don’t think, but it makes for a decent movie usually! Eat, Pray, Love and The Da Vinci Code are two I can’t see myself getting to either – neither of them really grab me. I did watch TDVC movie, but haven’t seen EPL yet – was told it was disappointing. Prose I think I’d also have problems with, I don’t really like stream of consciousness either. I do own all the GOT books… It’s a personal Everest. For the classics… pft. I do try. Surprised at Austin though!!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-books-ill-never-read/

    • I haven’t seen the EPL movie either. I have a feeling I wouldn’t like it. Maybe someday. I like stream of consciousness in fiction, not so much in non-fiction. I don’t know if that’s what I’d call it though. It’s just annoying. Full stop. I tried Austen SEVERAL times in high school and college and never liked it, any of the stories and books I tried. Why keep forcing myself, you know?

  3. No, I don’t think you should change your mind about these. Sure, maybe one or two of them you could end up tolerating or even liking, but think about how many books there are that you will LOVE! Life is short (when compared to the number of books), so ultimately we have to pick and choose. You know your reading preferences, so trust your gut. 🙂

  4. 50 Shades of Grey I won’t read either! But I’ve read a few Nicholas Sparks books XD they are a bit repetitive so I see what you say there! I don’t like Jane Austen much either, I couldn’t get into Pride and Prejudice at all but I had to read it for school xP

  5. I’m with you on so many of these! Fifty Shades, A Song of Ice and Fire, Jane Austen…

    I have The Da Vinci Code, but was utterly underwhelmed and haven’t touched a Dan Brown book since.

    My TTT.

  6. I agree with pretty much 100% of this list. I keep thinking I’m going to read Martin’s books, but then look at the actual book on my shelf and know I’m never going to pick it up.
    I’m not an Austen fan, but I’ve read all her books (for a class). If you decide you want to just read one of you books, read Persuasion.

    • Martin’s books are just SO daunting. I think I’ll eventually pick it up to try, maybe an audiobook so I can just listen while I drive? I’ll keep it in mind to try Persuasion if I ever try another Austen.

  7. You seriously need to reconsider your classics there. come on. Les Miserables and Anna Karenina are like the best things ever. You’re probably daunted by the size of them. anyways, happy reading!

  8. If I could change your mind about one book, it would be Anna Karenina. I loved that book. There is so much more to it than the movies. I’m not just waving the Tolstoy banner either since I never made it through War and Peace and don’t intend to give it another go.

    In total agreement on most of the others except for The DaVinci Code. I loved it, but not going to try and change your mind on that one. I made it through Les Miserables, barely. The readers are the miserable ones there, lol. I’ve not read anything by Sparks either, but have The Rescue which I will give a go sometime this summer.

      • Les Miserables isn’t quite as bad as I made out. Loved the start and it had some great parts, but was too long and too busy.

        I hope you enjoy Anna Karenina if you ever read it. The first time I read it, I didn’t appreciate the parts out in the country on Levin’s farm. I always wanted to get back to Anna. They fared much better with an older me.

    • I knew you were going to say that. 😦 I have tried so many times to read her stuff in both high school and college and I just never enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll start with some Colin Firth and go from there.

  9. I can see why you wouldn’t want to read some of these, especially stuff like Dan Brown. It’s a shame about Austen, this is an odd suggestion but have you ever seen the movies? They’re quite a good introduction to the world. (I have an enduring love for the BBC production of Pride and Prejudice, which mainly stems from Colin Firth’s wet shirt scene…)

    • I’ve seen Sense and Sensibility, but it’s been so long I barely remember it. Just looked it up – totally didn’t know Alan Rickman was in it. Maybe I should rewatch. And I’ve seen the Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley, but not the Colin Firth one. I’ll give it a go. 🙂

  10. Great list! I was hesitant about Martin too, but read the first three in January, they were all I read January too. I get why they are so popular and the series sucked me in too, but not easy reads. Not just the length, but heavy plot and so much violence. Still Martin has some great imagery and ideas in the book. Even though it was totally frustrating I kinda liked how he wasn’t a safe read. In my opinion worth the work. …And lol about Austen, me too.

Leave a Reply

