Thursday Thoughts | Couples Appreciation Month – Favorite YA Couples

April is Couples Appreciation Month (I had no idea, but found out at the library), so I wanted to showcase some of my favorite couples in YA literature. Let me know your favorites in the comments!

Fair warning: There are a LOT OF CAPS LOCK in this post.

Lola and the Boy Next DoorLola and Cricket from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

WHY I LOVE THEM: We all know this is my OTP. Cricket is basically my dream guy, and I’ve had several people tell me I’m a lot like Lola, so HELLO, Cricket is obviously my real boyfriend. 🙂 Cricket is sweet, smart, kind, funny, nerdy, and totally swoon-worthy and he’s the PERFECT match for Lola, spunky, independent, unique, colorful Lola.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky AlbertalliSimon and Blue from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

WHY I LOVE THEM: I know I’ve been very obvious in my love for this book recently, but you guys, it’s SO WORTH IT. The emails between Simon and Blue are so unbelievably adorable and you’ll totally melt. I was rooting for them SO HARD while reading this book. They both care about each other so much even before they’ve even met. So much so that Simon will let himself be blackmailed to protect Blue.

The Truth about Forever

 

Macy and Wes from The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

WHY I LOVE THEM: ASDFJKL; How can I even put it into words?

 

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

 

Finnick and Annie from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

WHY I LOVE THEM: “He never lets go of Annie’s hand. Not when they walk, not when they eat. I doubt he ever plans to.”

 

This Is What Happy Looks LikeGraham and Ellie from This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

WHY I LOVE THEM: Another book with emails between two characters who’ve never met and then have. I just really like adorable emails, OKAY? This relationship felt so real because Ellie was resistant to the two of them getting close when she finds out who Graham is. They struggle at first but then their romance and relationship are just TOO cute.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. RowlingHermione and Ron from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

WHY I LOVE THEM: I just love the idea of them together. Sweet, awkward, loyal Ron and nerdy, smart, brilliant Hermione always seemed like the best couple. Like a lot of people who read this series, I put myself in Hermione’s shoes. I related to her a lot, and Ron was the kind of guy I liked (except when he was such a jerk in GoF).

The Fault in Our StarsHazel Grace & Augustus from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

WHY I LOVE THEM: *leaves to cry in the corner* I know a lot of people hate on John Green and his characters because they are too grown up or unrealistic or whatever, but I’m a fan. I think for two people who are going through what Hazel and Augustus are going through, they ARE realistic. Either way, they are smart, quirky, charming, devastating, and a great YA couple.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

 

Katniss & Peeta from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

WHY I LOVE THEM: Real or not real? REALLLLLL.

 

Who are you favorite couples in YA? 

The following couple is somewhat spoiler-y. This series hasn’t ended yet, and…oh, just read it if you’ve read the first three Raven Cycle books.

 

Blue Lily, Lily Blue

 

Ronan & Adam from the Raven Cycle books by Maggie Stiefvater

WHY I LOVE THEM: Okay, this isn’t actually a real couple. YET. But PYNCH, you guys – I WILL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP

 

18 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts | Couples Appreciation Month – Favorite YA Couples

  1. Yay! Lola and Cricket.
    My default reaction to any mention of Finnick is uncontrollable sobbing so I’m going to go try to compose myself now.

  2. I am constantly intrigued by Simon and Blue. Gah, I just want to read SimonVS to get it over with! One of my all-time favourite couples is Tessa Gray and Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices. They hold a special place in my heart.

    AND OH MY GOD YES ALL THE WAY TO PYNCH!!!!

  3. I have plenty of favorite book couples! So brace yourself!!!
    > Katy and Daemon (Lux series)
    > Tate and Miles (Ugly Love)
    > Rose and Dimitri (Vampire Academy)
    > Mara and Noah (Mara Dyer trilogy)
    > Kaidan and Anna (Sweet trilogy)
    > Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden)
    > Will and Tessa (The Infernal Devices)
    > Jace and Clary (TMI)
    > Anna and Etienne (AATFK)
    > Rush and Blaire (Rosemary Beach series)
    > Cameron and Avery (ait for You by JLA)

    :))

    • Wow! I haven’t read half of those – I own the first two Mara Dyer books so it’ll happen soon! I’ve been wanting to read the Lux series and Ugly Love, so it’s good to know you love those couples!

  4. SO many new couples here! Some of my favourites are Noah and Echo from Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry, Tate and Miles from Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover, Monroe and Nathan from Boys Like You by Julianna Stone, Chaol and Celaena from Throne of Glass… I could go on lol R x

  5. These are some great couples! Lola and Cricket are my favorite Stephanie Perkins couple.

    Some of my other favorite couples are Cath and Levi, Harry and Ginny (I shipped them right from the beginning!), and all of Juliet Marillier’s couples. I could go on (and on and on), but I’ll stop myself there. 🙂

  6. I love when you get all shouty caps like that! I feel your love for these couples. And there again is another sign I have to read a Dessen book!

  7. Yes to Finnick & Annie, Katniss & Peeta, and Ron & Hermione! Most of my favorites are from classics – Henry & Catherine from Northanger Abbey, Anne & Gilbert from the Anne of Green Gables series, Anne & Captain Wentworth from Persuasion. Except for Jane Austen, very few of my five star books involve much romance at all.

Leave a Reply

