#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge | Week Three Update

Before I start, don’t forget that our Twitter chat is TODAY, April 18 at 2 p.m. CST!! I’ll be hosting and we’ll be using the #ReadingMyLibrary hashtag!

#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

This was National Library Week! We did book dominoes at my library which was so much fun! I’ll be posting a video of it later. As for reading, I finished the Jackaby audiobook yesterday, and I really liked it. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series. I’ll probably review the book soon. I also read some comics!

ReadingMyLibrary Week Three

I’m still currently reading Deadpool & Cable, and I also started Watchmen – though that seems to be one you take a while to read. I don’t think it’s one to read in one day. I also decided to DNF The Orphan Queen. I feel like I’ve already read it even though I haven’t. It’s too similar to a lot of other books I’ve read and I’m just not in the mood for it right now. I might try again at a future date.

This week, I saved a total of $142.91 – $22.95 (Jackaby Audiobook), $34.99 (Deadpool: The Complete Collection – Vol. 1), $14.99 (Tress Vol. 1), $39.99 (Deadpool & Cable Ultimate Collection – Book 1), $29.99 (Superman: Earth One). Comics are expensive, dude.

Overall in the challenge, I have saved a total of $194.30! (Still counting The Orphan Queen even though I DNF’ed).

Each week during the Challenge, we’ve chosen a topic to discuss during our weekly update. This week’s topic is:

Why you love libraries or why you love being a librarian.

I love libraries because there are whole worlds contained in them. They can inspire, teach, console, and relate. They’ll make you laugh, cry, and realize you aren’t alone. You can visit places all over the world or places not of this world. You can meet someone who understands you completely or learn about someone who is completely different from you. I love libraries because they are full of friendly, helpful, interesting people (I’m not just tooting my own horn here, promise) who will introduce you to your next favorite read. I love libraries because you can apply for jobs, apply for a passport, send in your taxes, make copies of your research, print out you application to college, and more.

I love being a librarian because I can inspire, teach, relate, and recommend. I can help you apply to college or find your next favorite read. I love being a librarian because of the look on my patrons’ faces when they return a book they loved that I recommended. I get to help with homework or job applications. I get to order books I know my patrons will love (or that I’ll be able to passionately recommend). I get to discover new worlds, new characters, new books and comics and movies. Being a librarian is basically having a book blog in real life.

Why do you love libraries?

LINK YOUR WEEK THREE UPDATE BELOW!

And don’t forget to enter the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge giveaway!

14 thoughts on “#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge | Week Three Update

  1. I listed so many of your reasons for loving the library in my own post! I think there’s this (extremely erroneous) idea that libraries are only good for physical books, and so they’re basically obsolete at this point, but they offer SO much more than that.
    Yay for saving so much money! 🙂

  2. I also love the way you have calculated how much money you have saved it really highlights that particular value of libraries. I also had a book in the last week that I was glad I did not pay for but I am also reading one I probably will eventually buy and re-read.

    • I actually read one yesterday that I LOVED and plan on buying in the future. But I live 45 minutes away from a book store, so I checked it out since I wouldn’t be able to drive out to buy it this week. 🙂 Libraries are awesome.

  3. With all the kids’ books I’ve checked out over the past two weeks, I am already up to almost $300 saved. My kids are always so happy when they go to the library and get greeted by name by our librarians.

  4. Wow! That is some serious money, way to go. How do the comics do in your library? Is there an age group they are most popular with? How long do you check them out for? We have a few Graphic Novels, but they don’t move much. Maybe this is something we could we could try too.

    • We’ve just recently started ordering more comics and graphic novels. They’ve done pretty well so far. They get checked out by teenagers (some as young as 13 but mostly closer to 16/17), but also by adults (maybe 30s?). We’ve been recommending them to a lot of people and everyone seems to like them when they try them. 🙂

  5. I really like how you have been calculating how much money you have saved using the library! I pretty much use the library for all of my reading anyway, so I should really keep track of that as well.

Leave a Reply

