#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge – My Sign Up Post

#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

Hello, lovelies! As you may know, I am co-hosting the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge with Amy at Read What I Like next month! You might also know that I am the Circulation Clerk and YA Librarian at a small library in Mississippi. Each month I order between 10-20 new YA and Middle Grade books for my library, though I’m only able to read a very small number of these (because of time, ARCs, life), so Amy and I started the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge to fix that. We want to read ONLY library books for the month of April (though if you participate, you are only required to read ONE library book). I hope to get caught up on the books I’ve ordered but haven’t read – partly so I can be even better at recommending titles to my patrons and partly because I ordered those books for a reason! 🙂

So here is my (tentative) TBR for the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge (definitely subject to change based on my mood, and also in no particular order whatsoever). Also, a few books/audiobooks are not pictured but linked below. I’ve only chosen books that I have ordered for my library since I started working. Yes, the TBR is a little overambitious, but if you recall, I’m a mood reader, so I need options!

#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

The Sin Eater’s Daughter / Made for You / Shutter / Vivian Apple at the End of the World / The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley / Red Queen / I’ll Meet You There / Beautiful You / Atlantia (on CD)

NOT PICTURED (aka waiting on holds/hoping the new books come in soon!)

I’ll Give You the Sun (on CD) / Jackaby (on CD) / We All Looked Up

My TBR is obviously VERY ambitious, and I’ll be lucky to get to even half of these, BUT I’m excited for all of them, so I just went ahead and checked them out. It gives me options!

I would LOVE it if you would join us next month. As I said earlier in the post, you only have to read ONE book to participate in the challenge (did I mention there were TWO giveaways?!), and I hope it’ll be a lot of fun to show your support of your library. So if you do want to participate, head over to my sign up post to learn more and enter your link!

17 thoughts on “#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge – My Sign Up Post

    • WOO! I’m so glad you’re going to sign up. I started Jackaby yesterday, and I’m really liking it so far. Nicola Barber is the narrator, and I’ve read/listened to a few books she’s narrated and I like her.

  1. Oh, Oh, interesting question for you (maybe), if I were a librarian I’d be pumped to be able to buy new books but how do you buy books in genres you don’t like, by authors you don’t like, or stories you hate even though other people may enjoy them? How do you know when to take that gamble? Or how do you even force yourself to do it? Because I’m pretty sure I’d struggle with that! R x

    • It’s REALLY hard, but I see what my patrons like (if it’s something I haven’t ordered) and talk to them about the kinds of books they like then I try to find some like that. I usually head to Goodreads to check out other bloggers reviews to make sure I’m not ordering crap (since, to me, it’s not something I’d read). For the most part, my patrons have enjoyed and appreciated the fact that I don’t order the normal type of YA book or the ones they are used to because it gets them out of their comfort zone. Does that make sense?

  2. My library pretty much has only Macedonian books. Would reading a translate book work? I should think so. Good luck with your challenge!

  3. I’m heading to the library tomorrow to get some books for the challenge! I found out that they will be staying open to check out books until the temporary location opens June 1st so I won’t have any problems participating in this challenge like I originally thought! So far on my TBR I have Half Bad by Sally Green and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. But I’m sure I’ll find plenty more when I go tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

