Calling all librarians!! #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

Reading My Library Challenge

As a librarian, you see so many books come across your desk (either that you’ve ordered yourself or that your patrons are requesting) that you just don’t have time to read. Which sucks, honestly. Yes, you’ve ordered those books for your patrons, but let’s be honest: you’ve ordered them for yourself too. I order around 10-15 YA (and MG) books per month – remember when I said I’m at a tiny library? – all of which I want to read but end up just putting out into the library. As a library patron, I’m sure you have a LONG list of books you want to read, don’t you?

Well, Amy at Read What I Like and I have a solution for you! We’ve created the Reading My Library Challenge – a month long event in which we will try to read as many of those library books we’ve seen come in but haven’t had a chance to read yet! Sound fun? Join us!

Right now, we’re still in the planning stage, but we need help – from any other bloggers who work in libraries! This is what we know so far:

  • The Challenge will take place throughout the whole month of April (April 12-18, 2015 is National Library Week)
  • Anyone can participate as long as you have somewhere to share what you’re reading
  • You don’t have to exclusively read library books, as long as you are reading some library books
  • We’re going to have an EPIC Library Scavenger Hunt that will span all areas of a library and get you appreciating everything your library has to offer
  • We’ll have TWO giveaways – one for the Scavenger Hunt and one for participating in the challenge
  • We want you to have fun and save money – libraries are FREEEEE!

What we need right now is help ironing out all the details so we’re asking any bloggers who are also librarians to PLEASE sign up below (link will take you to a Google Form that will ask for your name and email). You can also feel free to send any questions or emails to caughtreadhanded [at] gmail [dot] com!

Librarian Sign up

And of course, if you aren’t a librarian, but this challenge sounds like something you might like, keep your eyes open for a sign up post sometime next month! Leave any suggestions in the comments below or feel free to email me too!

If you want to talk about the challenge before April or would rather tweet suggestions, please use the hashtag #ReadingMyLibrary so we can all see what you have to say!

[Learn more about National Library Week]

15 thoughts on “Calling all librarians!! #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

  1. Pingback: Sign ups are open for the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge! | Caught Read Handed

  2. I’m trying to use my library more, at the minute it’s mostly overdrive I use but I’d like to borrow more from the library itself, looking forward to seeing what happens with this! R x

  3. This is a great idea! Although, I never go to the library (for myself) anymore. *shrinks away* BUT, I take my daughter twice a month, so there’s that!! I just have too many books on my Kindle and at home I’m trying to get through. Not enough time!

Leave a Reply

