Thursday Thoughts: Blogging Community Love (and Love-a-Thon)

Thursday Thoughts on Caught Read Handed

My favorite thing about book blogging is the community. I love being able to talk to people from all over the world who are just as passionate about books and reading as I am. We get to talk about the books we’ve read and loved (or…not loved) and no matter how excited we get over something, there are people in this community who get you. Almost everyone I’ve “met” through book blogging has been super supportive and nice and positive, and I love that.

Sometimes things get stressful or too much or you have a bad experience that gets you down. But those things are far outweighed by the times we get to connect over a shared experienced with a book or we get to interact with a favorite author on Twitter or we are shown generous amounts of support on those horrible days. I recently tweeted and said this:

And it’s true. But as much as I enjoy just being able to freely discuss what I felt about a book, it wouldn’t really be the same without all of you wonderful people. All of my followers and the people I follow. I appreciate all of you so much for supporting my blog and talking to me about books and reading and life.

This post was going to be about positivity and how a lot of the time people are really negative and create drama when it is not needed nor wanted, but then I wrote that first line and realized I didn’t want to be negative too. I don’t give in to that negativity on Twitter. You will probably never see me subtweet about something or fuel new drama about something that’s happened in the book blogging world. And I do that on purpose. There is no point to it. I would much rather push that negativity to the side and be positive, even when that negativity threatens to drown me.

This post is also a short little plug for the Book Blogger Love-a-Thon hosted by Alexa Loves Books that’s happening this weekend. Basically, it’s a weekend long event in which we all tell each other how much we love and support them. It’s dedicated to doing exactly what I said I like to do: spreading the love for blogs and bloggers. How awesome is that? It’s happening February 21 & 22, so you’ll be seeing a few posts and probably a lot of love from me this weekend. I might get a little mushy. Get over it. :p If you are interested, you can still sign up HERE on Alexa’s blog!

How do you feel about the book blogging community? Let’s try to stay positive in the comments, but I don’t mind if you want to discuss the things that get you down! I’m here for you. ❤

ALSO, while I’m spreading the love, I’m doing a giveaway for a copy of Jennifer E. Smith’s The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight over on Twitter if you want to enter!

19 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Blogging Community Love (and Love-a-Thon)

  1. Pingback: Book Blogger Love-a-Thon: Questionnaire | Caught Read Handed

  2. I’m excited for my first LoveAThon. It will be my first ever tweet chat so I was over there figuring out hashtags and retweeting, and found you! My first new friend from the LAT!
    I really lik the way you sod your profile picture!

  3. Ooh, this sounds like so much fun! I’ve been lucky enough to not experience any of the negativity that floats around the community, probably because I follow a lot of people (like you!) who totally eschew it in favor of love, love, love. The community is absolutely the best part of blogging, and I’m glad there’s going to be a whole weekend devoted to appreciating each other. 🙂

  4. I agree completely! This is hands down the best community I’ve come across. You’re so right, meeting all these amazing people is the best part about blogging for me too! Such a lovely post 🙂

  5. I have met some of the most awesome people from blogging, and made some great friends in the past year, you being one of them! I’m thankful for that every day. Blogging is something I really enjoy, but the main reason I keep doing it is so I can interact with all of the people who’ve become my friends. It gives me joy and something to look forward to on a daily basis. It says a lot about the community and all of the awesome bloggers who make it so fun.

Leave a Reply

