Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Problems

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Ten Book Related Problems I Have (could be serious or fun!)

Finding time to actually read – I have two jobs, a blog, a website I write for, and I also have to eat and sleep. Finding time to read is sometimes really difficult but extremely necessary for my mental well-being.

Book hangovers – do I really need to explain this one? We all get it – that inability to start another book because the one you just finished left you in shock, awe, confusion, horror, happiness, whatever.

Not having anyone to gush to about a book – sometimes you’re the first of your friends to read a really good book and you just want to talk about it, SPOILERS included, but you can’t. That stinks.

Book pain syndrome – or BPS for short. This is what happens when you spend hours reading a book in the same position on the couch or bed or floor or what have you. Your neck can only bend certain ways, your legs go numb, your arms are tired of holding the book. It hurts.

Wanting to read ALL the books at once – I have WAY too many books I want to read and I just want to read them all RIGHT NOW.

What to read next – of those hundreds of books I want to read, picking which one I should read next is one of the most difficult decisions I’ll make that day.

Book buying bans – I’m currently in one of these. Sort of. I’ve bought one or two, but I’ve been pretty good at not buying several books at once. Living 45 minutes from the nearest book store probably helps.

Getting interrupted

When the audiobook skips – I check out audiobooks from the library. On disc. Sometimes 72565 people have checked it out already and it’ll skip in the middle of the fifth disc, 35 minutes from the end after I’ve listened to it for 5 hours and 14 minutes and I HATE this.

Racing through a book only to discover the sequel isn’t out for a year – I’m looking at you A Darker Shade of Magic

What are your biggest book related problems? Link me up to your TTT!

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Problems

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite TTT topics | Caught Read Handed

  2. Hahahahaha, that Johnny Depp-gif explains exactly how I feel when I’m interrupted! 😀

    I’ve also had the same problem with gushing with others about books. My friends don’t read, my sister reads sometimes something popular. So I got a Goodreads account and started talking about these books over there. Which clearly isn’t the same as if you would gush over this character or that world building with someone in person, but I found some great friends on the internet. So if you want to talk about some book that we maybe have both read, I’m here to gush with you! 🙂

    • It really really is. I’m surrounded by books too – whether they be ones I own, ones at the library where I work, or ones I work with at the publisher I work for. They’re everywhere! How do we choose, Miguel? 🙂

  3. Urgh, I SO understand number one, but yes – I’ve discovered reading (or me time) definitely boosts the mental health into the +ve zone! If I was a Sim that would be all I’d need for happiness. I love the Johnny Depp gif, that’s so accurate! And I don’t read audiobooks, but I can imagine how annoying that would be!! R x

  4. I HATE waiting for books, too. I still haven’t read Fairest yet because I have it in my head I will wait til about October and binge read the series before Winter comes out. But I know I won’t be able to wait until then to actually read it.

    • I have two main friends that I talk to about books but they don’t live near me and we tend to read different types of books, so it’s just me sitting in a corner like “I’ll just tell myself how much I loved this book.” Haha!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. So many good ones!! Oh the sequel one is so brutal. I hate being interrupted, too! And dang it I wish I had time to read ALL the books.

    I didn’t realize you work two jobs! I feel like I also need to read in order to maintain my sanity. It helps me cope with life and keeps me calm. 🙂

    • Being interrupted, especially when you are REALLY into a book, is the absolute worst.

      Yep. I work at my library as a circulation clerk and YA librarian and online for a publisher as a publicist. 🙂

      Reading is ESSENTIAL to my sanity.

  6. I don’t see how you do it with two jobs, Stefani. Two jobs can really wear you down and the times in my life when I had two jobs was before the Internet, so I didn’t even have that time-muncher to contend with.

  7. Book Buying Bans!!!! Hahaha. I totally understand. When I buy books, I overdo it most of the time. Enough to last me for months…. And then the new releases come and I have to discipline myself and stop myself from coming to the bookstore again. Thus, either I am successful with the discipline part and I miss out for quite some time on the new releases that look soooo good, or I’m a hopeless cause and the pile of unread books just keep getting higher… :/

Leave a Reply

